Delegation of the European Union to the Lao PDR

About the EU Delegation to Lao PDR

12/05/2016 - 11:55

Delegation of the European Union to Laos

The Delegation's Mission Statement: 

The mission of the Delegation of the European Union to Laos is to further improve relations with the Lao government and people in mutual respect and for our mutual benefit, in order to promote peace, security and sustainable development. 


Following the Treaty of Lisbon, the European External Action Service is responsible for running 140 European Union Delegations and Offices operating around the world, representing the European Union and its citizens globally.

The main functions of the Delegation to Laos are:

  • Political: The Delegation monitors political developments in Laos and reports to EU headquarters on these developments. The EU Ambassador also participates, together with the Heads of Mission of the EU Member States, in all EU diplomatic representations of official positions to the Government of Laos on political issues.


  • Economic: The European Commission is the trade negotiator and trade regulator of the European Union. The Delegation represents the Commission through contact with the Ministry of Commerce and Industry and other stakeholders on issues concerning market access, regulatory issues, investment and international trade.


  • Cooperation: The Delegation designs and implements EU-Laos development cooperation programmes and is engaged in policy dialogue on all cooperation-related issues with Laos.  Starting from 2016, European partners (EU, EU countries and Switzerland) are coordinating more closely on development cooperation through the European Joint Programming (2016-2020), which sets out a common vision, priorities, approach, division of labour and planned spending.


  • Information and culture: The Delegation carries out a programme of activities to give the whole of Laos a chance to enjoy a taste of Europe’s democratic values as well as its rich cultural heritage. The Delegation works to create awareness and understanding of the EU in Laos, promotes the Erasmus Mundus scholarship programme and provides information requested from the media and general public.


Who works at the EU Delegations?

EU Delegations' staff comes from a number of different departments of the European External Action Service  and the European Commission, local employees who provide valuable expertise on the ground as well as diplomats and experts from EU countries.

H.E. Ms. Ina Marčiulionytė, Ambassador/Head of the Delegation

I am pleased to welcome you to the European Union Delegation to the Lao PDR website. The EU and Laos celebrate 45 years since the establishment of the diplomatic relations in 1975 this year. We have since developed friendly relations and cooperated in various fields in support to the socioeconomic development goals of Laos to promote peace, security and protection of human rights. Equally important are the green growth, sustainability, gender equality and women empowerment principles.

In addition to our activities in nutrition, human development, governance and biodiversity conservation we seek to increase political relations, trade and cooperation with Laos for a mutual benefit of the people of Laos and the Europeans. The EU works closely with Laos also in the framework of EU – ASEAN cooperation, especially in connectivity, trade and security areas.

This webpage provides an overview to our various activities in Laos as well as updates about the European Union. I hope that you will find the information useful. I would also like to invite you to follow our accounts on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and Twitter.

If you have any questions or suggestions for us, you are welcome to us at

Thank you for visiting us!

Ambassador -Head of Delegation


Ms. Loreta DAMBROSIO, Personal Assistant to Head of Delegation


Political and Press Section

Ms. Baiba ZARINA, Political Officer 

Mr. François PRAVONGVIENGKHAM, Policy Officer

Ms. Thongvone SOSAMPHAN, Press and Information Officer


Cooperation Section

Mr. Vincent VIRE , Head of Cooperation

Ms. Francesca ARATO, Programme Manager

Mr. Phonesavanh SETHANAPHAIXANH, Programme Manager

Ms. Cécile LEROY, Programme Manager

Mr. Inpone SENEKHAMTY, Programme Manager

Ms. Assunta TESTA, Programme Manager

Ms. Saymano SANOUBANE, Programme Manager

Mr. Vatthana ATANAPHONE, Programme Manager

Mr. Bouasy BOUASVAN, Programme Manager

Ms. Souphaphone THAVONSOUK, Programme Manager

Ms. Anne-Sophie JAMEUX- Finance and Contracts Manager

Ms. Somphan PALIPHASOUK, Finance and Contracts Manager

Ms. Thatsany SENGPHACHANH, Secretary

Ms. Silisakhone KEOPHILALAY, Secretary


Administration Section

Ms. Nadege MARIE, Head of Administration

Ms. Nitthaphone SIVANTHONG, Accountant

Ms. Touktathong SELYKEO, Accounting Clerk

Ms. Moukdavanh PRA-ANKHANN, Administration Secretary

Ms. Phonesavanh LINSAMOUTH, Secretary/ Receptionist

Mr. Khammai SIDAVONG, Driver

Mr. Somphachan PHILASOUK, Driver

Mr. Boudsy POTHISALAD, Driver

Secções editoriais: