Delegation of the European Union to Kenya

Joint Statement by Heads of Mission in Kenya

Nairobi, 25/10/2017 - 20:51, UNIQUE ID: 171026_5
Local Statements

Heads of Mission statement on the unfolding developments around Kenya's fresh presidential election

As long-standing partners, our governments have watched the unfolding developments around Kenya’s fresh presidential election with profound sadness.  We had hoped and have repeatedly called for Kenyans to come together to hold a better election in line with the historic order of the Supreme Court on September 1.  We are deeply disappointed by the continuing efforts of both parties to interfere with and undermine the independent operation of the electoral commission, the judiciary, and other essential institutions.   We condemn the attack on the bodyguard of the Deputy Chief Justice. 

We regret that the Supreme Court was unable to hear today’s case that raised important questions regarding the election.  We would have preferred that the case be heard before the election.  We strongly deplore any attempts to obstruct the judicial process.   

The IEBC has, however, announced the election will take place tomorrow.  We urge all Kenyans to remain calm, reject violence, and uphold the principles of this country’s remarkable Constitution.  Following this election, there must be immediate, sustained, open, and transparent dialogue involving all Kenyans to resolve the deep divisions that the electoral process has exacerbated.  Kenya is at risk of losing much of what it has gained since 2008 unless it comes together at this crucial moment to preserve its democracy and fundamental freedoms. 


Robert F. Godec

Ambassador of the United States


Stefano A. Dejak

Ambassador of the European Union



Ambassador of Finland


Victor Conrad Rønneberg

Ambassador of Norway



Ambassador of the Netherlands


Mette Knudsen

Ambassador of Denmark


Antoine Sivan
Ambassador of France

Quinton Devlin
Deputy High Commissioner a.i., Australia



Nic Hailey

High Commissioner for the United Kingdom


Ralf Heckner

Ambassador of Switzerland


Anna Jardfelt

Ambassador of Sweden


Jutta Frasch

Ambassador of Germany


Sara Hradecky

High Commissioner for Canada

Mauro Massoni
Ambassador of Italy

Nicolas Nihon
Ambassador of Belgium



Editorial Sections: