Delegation of the European Union to Kenya

About the EU Delegation to Kenya

12/05/2016 - 11:38
About us - structure and organisation

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission (Embassy or High Commission) and officially represents the European Union in Kenya. We promote the European Union's (EU's) values and interests, monitor the political, economic and commercial situation in the country and the region, oversee the various forms of cooperation between the EU and Kenya, and provide information about the EU's relations with Kenya.

The EU's key values and interests can be summed up as: peace, people, prosperity, the planet, and partnership. Here in Kenya, the EU:

  • works together with Kenya, including through AMISOM, to promote peace in neighbouring Somalia;
  • supports democracy and devolution, helping to bring political power closer to ordinary people;
  • is Kenya's biggest export market and a major source of private investment, as well as providing financing for Kenya's infrastructure and rural development to spread greater prosperity in the country;
  • supports environmental conservation, which also has wider benefits for the planet;
  • works in partnership with Kenya both as a political partner (through regular political dialogue) and as a development partner (in coordination with other donors of assistance and the relevant Kenyan authorities).

The EU is made up of 27 Member States, has a population of around 506 million, and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

Eighteen of the EU Member States have diplomatic missions in Nairobi. The Member States' diplomats meet regularly with the EU Delegation's staff to confer on relations with Kenya, as well as holding joint meetings together with Kenyan decision-makers which constitute the Kenya-EU political dialogue. Several of the Member States have assistance programmes of their own to help support development in Kenya, in addition to the funding that they provide through the EU institutions.


The EU Delegation and EU Member States' diplomatic  missions also work together to promote cultural cooperation, including also with other European diplomatic missions in organising the European Film Festival which takes place every year in May.

Presentation of credentials / Photo PSCU

Henriette Geiger was appointed Ambassador of the European Union to Kenya in September 2021.

Presenting her credentials to President Uhuru Kenyatta, Ms Geiger noted: “The EU and Kenya are working on the implementation of a new Strategic Dialogue launched by H.E. President Kenyatta and President of the EU Council of Ministers Charles Michel on 21 June 2021. I am happy to be posted here at this critical juncture in order to ensure that this partnership takes off and reaches its full potential, in the areas such as trade, internal and regional security, digitalisation, and human development.”

Before being appointed EU Ambassador to Kenya, Ms Geiger was Director for People and Peace in the Directorate General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA) of the European Commission, where she was responsible for cooperation on human development, migration, security, gender equality, human rights, education and health. Previously, she served as Head of Unit in DG INTPA, responsible for bilateral cooperation with Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and Pacific, and before that she was responsible for the political dimension of the EU’s relations with the Horn of Africa, East Africa and the Indian Ocean in the European External Action Service. Ms Geiger also served in the EU’s Council of Ministers, the United Nations General Secretariat, and has worked in the private sector and civil society. Educated in both Germany and the United States, she obtained two master degrees in social sciences and earned a distinction as a Fulbright Scholar.


Katrin Hagemann was appointed as the Deputy Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Kenya in 2019. A German National, she joined the European External Action Service at its inception in 2011. From 2015-2019, she served as the head of the Political Section of the European Union Delegation to Botswana and SADC. She holds a degree in Astronomy and Physics (Wellesley College), a Master's Degree in Astronomy (Cornell University) and a second Master of Advanced International Studies (University of Vienna/Diplomatic Academy Vienna). She began her career at the German Federal Foreign Office before joining the European Union Council Secretariat in 2006.

The EU Delegation to Kenya has about 80 staff, working in the following sections:

  • The offices of the Ambassador and Deputy Ambassador;
  • Administration;
  • Finance & Contracts;
  • Operations, including: Governance & Macroeconomics; Infrastructure, and Rural Development & Food Security;
  • Political, Press & Information.

Some of these (in the Adminstration and the Contracts & Finance sections) are shared with the EU Delegation to Somalia, about 20 of whose staff are currently based in Nairobi for security reasons. In addition, Nairobi-based EU staff with wider regional roles in eastern Africa include some 25 people in: the Foreign Policy Instrument section (supporting peace ad stability), ECHO (humanitarian assistance), the EU Special Representative's office, EUNAVFOR (naval forces), and the European Investment Bank.

Contact points in the EU Delegation to Kenya include:

  • EU Ambassador to Kenya and Head of Delegation: Henriette GEIGER
  • Deputy Ambassador: Katrin HAGEMANN
  • EU Deputy Permanent Representative to UNEP/UN HABITAT: Rasa SCEPONAVICIUTE
  • Head of Political, Press & Information: Guy HARRISON
  • Head of Development Cooperation: Irene GIRIBALDI
  • Head of Governance & Macroeconomics: Alexandre BARON
  • Head of Infrastructure: Martin ANDERSEN
  • Head of Rural Development & Food Security: Myra BERNARDI
  • Head of Contracts & Finance: Nathalie DEKEYSER
  • Head of Administration: Carlos OLIVEIRA REIS
  • Commercial Counsellor: Martijn BOELEN
  • Regional Attachée, Fisheries and Maritime Affairs: Charlotte GOBIN
  • Press and Information Officer: Beatrice HONGO
Editorial Sections: