Delegation of the European Union to Kenya

About the EU Delegation to Kenya

12/05/2016 - 11:38
About us - structure and organisation

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission (Embassy or High Commission) and officially represents the European Union in Kenya. We promote the European Union's (EU's) values and interests, monitor the political, economic and commercial situation in the country and the region, oversee the various forms of cooperation between the EU and Kenya, and provide information about the EU's relations with Kenya.

The EU's key values and interests can be summed up as: peace, people, prosperity, the planet, and partnership. Here in Kenya, the EU:

  • works together with Kenya, including through AMISOM, to promote peace in neighbouring Somalia;
  • supports democracy and devolution, helping to bring political power closer to ordinary people;
  • is Kenya's biggest export market and a major source of private investment, as well as providing financing for Kenya's infrastructure and rural development to spread greater prosperity in the country;
  • supports environmental conservation, which also has wider benefits for the planet;
  • works in partnership with Kenya both as a political partner (through regular political dialogue) and as a development partner (in coordination with other donors of assistance and the relevant Kenyan authorities).

The EU is made up of 28 Member States, has a population of around 506 million, and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

Nineteen of the EU Member States have diplomatic missions in Nairobi. The Member States' diplomats meet regularly with the EU Delegation's staff to confer on relations with Kenya, as well as holding joint meetings together with Kenyan decision-makers which constitute the Kenya-EU political dialogue. Several of the Member States have assistance programmes of their own to help support development in Kenya, in addition to the funding that they provide through the EU institutions.


The EU Delegation and EU Member States' diplomatic  missions also work together to promote cultural cooperation, including also with other European diplomatic missions in organising the European Film Festival which takes place every year in May.

EU Ambassador Simon Mordue presented his credentials to H.E. President Kenyatta on 3rd September 2019.


Simon Mordue has 25 years of experience in the European Union institutions. His most recent function was Deputy Director-General for Migration in the Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs (DG HOME).


Presenting his credentials to H.E. the President, Ambassador Mordue promised to widen and deepen the existing, strong relationship between the EU and Kenya, which can be developed much further. The EU and Kenya continue to share many mutual interests in the pursuit of peace and stability in the region based on a common set of values, as well as mutual goals in bilateral cooperation, the economy and trade, and on regional issues.


Ambassador Mordue emphasised that the EU has a profound interest in Kenya. The country's stability, strength and prosperity through good governance is a prerequisite for sustainable development in the wider area. In this regard, the EU is able and willing to further support the Government's Big 4 agenda and its ambitious job creation programme, in particular through the new Africa-Europe Alliance for Sustainable Investment and Jobs, for which Kenya is a perfect fit.


Katrin Hagemann was appointed as the Deputy Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Kenya in 2019. A German National, she joined the European External Action Service at its inception in 2011. From 2015-2019, she served as the head of the Political Section of the European Union Delegation to Botswana and SADC. She holds a degree in Astronomy and Physics (Wellesley College), a Master's Degree in Astronomy (Cornell University) and a second Master of Advanced International Studies (University of Vienna/Diplomatic Academy Vienna). She began her career at the German Federal Foreign Office before joining the European Union Council Secretariat in 2006.

The EU Delegation to Kenya has about 80 staff, working in the following sections:

  • The offices of the Ambassador and Deputy Ambassador;
  • Administration;
  • Finance & Contracts;
  • Operations, including: Governance & Macroeconomics; Infrastructure, and Rural Development & Food Security;
  • Political, Press & Information.

Some of these (in the Adminstration and the Contracts & Finance sections) are shared with the EU Delegation to Somalia, about 20 of whose staff are currently based in Nairobi for security reasons. In addition, Nairobi-based EU staff with wider regional roles in eastern Africa include some 25 people in: the Foreign Policy Instrument section (supporting peace ad stability), ECHO (humanitarian assistance), the EU Special Representative's office, EUNAVFOR (naval forces), and the European Investment Bank.

Contact points in the EU Delegation to Kenya include:

  • Ambassador (Head of Delegation): Simon MORDUE
  • Deputy Ambassador: Katrin HAGEMANN
  • EU Deputy Permanent Representative to UNEP/UN HABITAT: Sebastian GIL
  • Head of Political, Press & Information: Guy HARRISON
  • Head of Development Cooperation: Hubert PERR
  • Head of Governance & Macroeconomics: Alexandre BARON
  • Head of Infrastructure: Martin ANDERSEN
  • Head of Rural Development & Food Security: Myra BERNARDI
  • Head of Contracts & Finance: Kris ENGELEN
  • Head of Administration: Carlos OLIVEIRA REIS
  • Commercial Counsellor: Martijn BOELEN
  • Press and Information Officer: Beatrice HONGO
Sezioni editoriali: