Қазақстан Республикасындағы Еуропалық Одақ Өкілдігі

ESDC/EaP: Strong support for the Eastern Partnership

17/05/2019 - 02:00
News stories

Various panels have been created for the implementation of the annual work plan of the Eastern Partnership (EaP). The one responsible for the Common Security and Defence Policy of the European Union is called ‘EaP panel: Security, CSDP and civil protection’.

EaP Austria ESDC

Between 2013 and 2019, 44 training activities were provided within the framework of the European Security and Defence College (ESDC). All training activities were hosted by Austria, the main training provider of the ESDC, and some in cooperation with Lithuania, Romania and Ireland. The biggest annual event is the CSDP week in Ukraine, which gathers around 600 participants from the EaP countries and the EU Member States.

Vira Grygorenko EaP Cecoforma
The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint initiative involving the EU, its Member States and six Eastern European Partners.

All six EaP countries expressed their gratitude to the College for its continued support. The main demand for CSDP training is due to their contribution to CSDP missions and operations. High quality and a demand-driven approach characterise the activities of the College, which relies on a network of 150 institutions in the EU and beyond.

EaP Austria ESDC
Jochen Rehrl from the ESDC presented the impressive training record within the EaP initiative.

Austria announced it would offer new topical seminars on strategic communication, hybrid threats, cybersecurity and conflict analysis in the coming years. EaP countries had already been contacted to gauge their readiness to host some of these events in their home country. Such a twinning event would also give the EaP host the chance to bring in their own expertise. In the latest edition of the ‘conflict analysis seminar’ in Yerevan, the National Defence Research University of Armenia hosted a panel discussion on the Chinese Silk Road project.

Background: The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint initiative involving the EU, its Member States and six Eastern European partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

ESDC activities in the framework of the EaP panel on security, CSDP and civil protection.