Delegation of the European Union to Japan

The European Union and 25 countries sign Joint Statement to strengthen Arctic science cooperation

Brussels, 10/05/2021 - 10:21, UNIQUE ID: 210511_1
Press releases

EU News 115/2021

On 9 May, Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, together with ministers from 25 countries signed the 3rd Arctic Science Ministerial Joint Statement. The third Arctic Science Ministerial Meeting (ASM3) entitled “Knowledge for a sustainable Arctic”, was co-organised by the governments of Japan and Iceland and took place on 8 and 9 May, in Tokyo and also virtually. Commissioner Mariya Gabriel signed the Joint Statement on behalf of the European Union. This third edition highlighted and consolidated the leading role of the EU on Arctic science.


The Arctic Science Ministerial meetings are intergovernmental events, hosted biennially by countries with an interest in Arctic research. The objective is to coordinate Arctic observation and research, and to strengthen Arctic science cooperation through an inclusive process – involving Arctic and non-Arctic States, as well as indigenous communities. In the Joint statement, the signatories identify the most urgent actions to address through international cooperation:

  1. Observe: implementing observing networks; data-sharing
  2. Understand: enhancing understanding and prediction capability for Arctic environmental and social systems, for the global impact of these changes
  3. Respond: operationalizing sustainable development, evaluating vulnerability and resilience, and applying Knowledge
  4. Strengthen: preparing the next generation through capacity building, education, networking; and resilience

The Joint Statement was signed by the 25 Ministers in charge of Research from the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, the Kingdom of Denmark, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

During the meeting, the ministers were joined by representatives of six Arctic Indigenous Peoples’ organisations (Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich'in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Saami Council).

Editorial Sections: