Delegation of the European Union to India and Bhutan

Winner of 7th EURAXESS Science Slam India 2019 announced

03/12/2019 - 07:48
News stories

Ms Sayani Das, from the Tata Institute for Fundamental Research (TIFR) in Mumbai, won the 7th EURAXESS Science Slam India 2019 for her presentation on Sensing Mercury: Easier than Ever!

Tania Friederichs, Head of Reserach and Information, Delegation of the European Union to India, together with Dr Samrat Kumar from Euraxess India, handed over a cheque to Ms Das, which will allow her to travel to Europe and visit research institutes of her choice.

At the LIVE finals of the 7th EURAXESS Science Slam India held at the Goethe-Zentrum Trivandrum on 30 November, five finalists competed for the Slammer title and the 1st prize - a round-trip ticket to Europe. The event was an opportunity to learn about study and research opportunities in Europe, EU research mobility programmes, the services of EURAXESS India and Science Communication.

At the networking dinner participants had a chance to interact with members of the EURAXESS India team, the EU Delegation to India, the German Consulate Bangalore, French Consulate Bangalore, DAAD, and members of the Science Slam Jury as well as organising partners, who represented different renowned institutes/organizations in India (e.g. BIMTECH, TIFR).

All the best to Ms Sayani Das in further building her research career in Europe!

Editorial Sections: