Delegation of the European Union to Iceland

Travel to the EU from Iceland

11/05/2016 - 18:01
Travel to the EU

There are a variety of opportunities within Iceland to study EU institutions, policies and issues. Icelanders can also have exposure to the workings of the EU, and study in Europe with programmes such as Erasmus+.

Since March 25th 2001 Iceland has been a member of Schengen area cooperation of 26 European states. Twenty-two EU Member States are members of the Schengen area, in addition to the EFTA-states Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Of the 27 EU Member States, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are not members of the Schengen area.

Identity papers that Icelanders should carry when travelling in Europe

Travelling to Nordic countries

Icelandic citizens travelling to the Nordic countries do not need to carry a passport. However, at some point you may need to show proof of identity. Your passport is the most reliable identification document. When checking into flights at Nordic airports you may be asked to show identification documents. Regulations on this may vary from one airline to another. It is common that airlines ask for a passport or other identification documents such as a driver's license.


Travelling to other Schengen countries.

It is recommended that Icelandic citizens carry their passports when travelling to other Schengen countries than the Nordic countries.

Even though Icelanders are free to cross the borders inside the Schengen area, a residence permit is normally required if you intend to stay longer than 90 days in one country.


Travelling to EU Member States outside the Schengen area

When travelling to EU Member States outside the Schengen area, Icelandic citizens need to carry their passport. If you intend to stay in the country for more than 90 days you normally need to apply for a residence permit.


Royal Danish Embassy
Address: Hverfisgata 29, 101 Reykjavik


Embassy of the Republic of Finland
Address: Túngata 30, 101 Reykjavik


    Embassy of the French Republic
    Address: Túngata 22, 101 Reykjavik


    Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany
    Address: Laufásvegur 31, 101 Reykjavik


    Embassy of Poland
    Address: Skúlatún 2, 105 Reykjavik


    Embassy of Sweden
    Address: Lágmúli 7, 108 Reykjavik


    The European Union Visitors Programme (EUVP) is a study programme for prominent young professionals from countries outside the European Union.

    The EU hopes the programme will lead to a better understanding between people from different cultures.


    Erasmus+ offers all kinds of learning opportunities for both people and organisations.

    More information can be found in the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.

    You can also read the Erasmus+ factsheet.