Delegation of the European Union to Haiti

Webinar 20 May: Food identity and geographic indications in Western Canada

18/05/2021 - 21:46
Voices and views

Geographical indications (GI) systems have seen a growing interest from producers, who are keen to gain recognition for their know-how. Consumers, too, are increasingly concerned with food quality, traceability and sustainability of agricultural production.

In the western provinces of Canada, the promotion of the local identity of products and the protection of the know-how of local producers are already well developed, particularly in the wine industry and in the Indigenous culinary culture.

Do you want to know more about food, identity and origin schemes and their added value for producers, exporters and consumers in western Canada?

Join us on 20 May for another webinar on food products identity and labeling in the western provinces, organised by the Delegation of the European Union to Canada and the EU Chamber of Commerce in Canada-West.

 

REGISTER HERE

 

TIME - 20 May 2021, 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT / 1:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm CET (90 minutes)

Discussions in English.

SUBJECT - Food identity as a tool for local development: what do producers think?

 

  • Why are GIs so popular as a form of food identity label in Europe and worldwide? Pros and cons? Costs and earnings?
  • What are the societal impacts of GIs?
  • How can food identity labels work as economic enablers?
  • Food identity and export: can GI regimes facilitate agrifood exports to Europe?

     

MODERATOR:

Barbara Wild, Good Wine Gal, Canada





SPEAKERS:

Manuel Pinheiro, Viticulture Commission of the Region of Vinhos Verde, Portugal

Joaquin Garrido, Regulatory Council of DOP Mejillón de Galicia, Spain

J. Scott Gerien, Dickenson, Peatman, Fogarty, Napa Valley, USA

Sandra Oldfield, Elysian Project, Canada

Anja Pignar, Ptujski luk Growers, Slovenia

 

You can now view the first webinar Food identity on a label: state of the art and prospects in western Canada, which was held on 13 May. Watch it here.