Delegation to Guyana, for Suriname, and with responsibility for Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Saint Barthelemy, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten.

About the EU Delegation to Guyana, for Suriname, and with responsibility for Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Saint Barthelemy, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten

11/05/2016 - 17:47
About us - structure and organisation

Delegation of the European Union to Guyana, Suriname and for the Dutch Overseas Countries and Territories

The Delegation of the European Union in Guyana is part of the European External Action Service (EEAS) and is one of the more than 140 Delegations of the European Union in the world.

The Delegation in Guyana was established in December 1972 following the signature of the First Lomé Convention.

The Delegation represents the European Union in all matters of its competence. It actively promotes the values and policies of the European Union, in an open and equal partnership with the Governments and people of the countries to which it is accredited. It plays a key role in the implementation of the EU’s cooperation programmes and trade policies focussing on poverty reduction and the smooth and gradual integration of the countries into the world economy.

Following the entering into force of the EU Lisbon Treaty in December 2009, the Delegation as part of the EEAS has now assumed the role of representing, coordinating and negotiating on behalf of the European Union in the countries to which it is accredited. The Head of Delegation, who has ambassadorial rank in his host countries, reports to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Mr Josep Borrell-Fontelles , who is also a Vice President of the European Commission.

The EU Delegation works closely with EU Member States represented in the host countries. The task of the Delegation, beyond the representation of Community interests, is one of co-ordination and co-operation with these missions. France (Suriname), the Netherlands (Suriname), are those EU Member States who have embassies in the countries to which this Delegation is accredited, though many more are represented by non-resident Ambassadors and Honorary Consuls.

Dear Visitor,

Welcome to the website of the EU Delegation! You will find here a great deal of information on the EU and its relations with Guyana, Suriname and the Overseas Countries and Territories under our responsibility, namely Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten and Saint-Barthélemy.

The European Union is first and foremost an endeavour to unite Countries and peoples in a common house. It is an unprecedented project of peaceful and democratic integration, working for the prosperity and wellbeing of more than 500 million European citizens, but also for inclusive and sustainable Development throughout the World. 

Europe is firmly committed to a global rules-based multilateral system where conflicts are solved through peaceful dialogue and compromise; to the promotion of human rights, rule of law, democratic values and good governance; and to the protection of the environment and climate change. We are working towards achieving, and helping others to achieve, the Sustainable Development Goals.

Over the years we have progressed in many other areas, from monetary union to agriculture, from competition to consumer protection. But if one had to single out the greatest achievement of the European Union this should be, I believe, the preservation of Peace. We live the longest period of Peace ever in the EU Countries. This, together with a firm commitment to fundamental values and objectives, constitute a very solid foundation to build upon.

Our relations with Guyana, Suriname and the OCTs under our responsibility reflect all these and other major principles and objectives, duly taking into consideration the different identities of each of our Partners. We have very solid Partnerships which reflect our common determination to work together in a spirit of respect and friendliness towards common objectives both domestically and globally, for the benefit of our citizens.

We are partners of both Guyana and Suriname practically from the time of Independence, and we remain determined to build an ever closer relationship with both. Our partnership covers Political, Development, and Socioeconomic relations including Trade, and other major policy areas, based on solid human, cultural and historical links. We are also actively working hand in hand with the OCTs, with sizeable cooperation packages reflecting our commitment to closer relations and cooperation with all those Countries and Territories.

In a World which is more and more inter-connected, addressing major challenges and making the most of opportunities increasingly requires cooperation and coordination beyond national borders. As the High Representative/Vice-President recently noted, our foreign policy is about shaping a more cooperative system for global governance. United we can achieve much more than separately.

You can also get connected with us on Facebook and TwitterAnd you are most welcome to also check my Twitter account @FJPonzCanto.

Fernando Ponz Cantó
Ambassador/Head of Delegation

Head of Delegation 
Ambassador Fernando Ponz Canto

Head of Political, Press & Information Section 
Evelina Melbarzde

Head of Cooperation
Karel Lizerot
Head of Administration
Jorge Janeiro