Delegation of the European Union to Georgia

EU announces the winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2020 in Georgia

23/03/2021 - 14:43
News stories

Tbilisi, 23 March 2021 – The virtual Award Ceremony of the ninth edition of the EU Prize for Journalism 2020 took place at the Holoseum. EU Ambassador Carl Hartzell awarded the winners in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism. Ambassador Marek Szczygieł, Head of the European Union Monitoring Mission awarded the winner of the Special Prize for conflict-sensitive journalism contributing to confidence building and peace.

Ambassador Carl Hartzell, Head of the European Union Delegation to Georgia emphasized the importance of the EU Prize: ‘’2020 was an extremely tough year, including for the media, being in the front line of a political crisis as well as keeping us informed on the Covid pandemic. In the face of the challenges that media today faces globally, ranging from political and economic pressures to tackling phenomena like disinformation, the European Union remains a staunch supporter and guardian of media ethics. In this context, we are proud to be hosting this annual Prize in Georgia, which has as its objective to reward the highest standards of journalistic ethics, professionalism and quality.’’

Ambassador Marek Szczygieł, Head of the European Union Monitoring Mission also underlined the importance of the Special Prize: “Independent, conflict-sensitive journalism is essential to build confidence and lasting peace. This is why EUMM is really honoured to reward some of the best journalistic pieces in that field in Georgia every year. Media plays a key role in building strong, healthy and peaceful democracies, and it is encouraging to witness their commitment.”


The winners and finalists of the EU Prize for Journalism 2020 are:

A: Best story in print or online media

Winner: George Gogua

Honourable mentions: Gela Mtivlishvili and Tamar Mshvenieradze


B: Best feature story in broadcast or online media

Winner: Mary Shikhashvili

Honourable mentions:  Lasha Orjonikidze and Irakli Imnaishvili


C: Best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media

Winner: Tamuna Chkareuli

Honourable mentions: Ia Asatiani and Marika Dudunia


D: Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media

Winner: Basti Mgaloblishvili

Honourable mentions: Giorgi Chkadua and Tea Topuria


E: The most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media

Winner: Eka Kevanishvili

Honourable mentions: Mariam Jachvadze and Nanuka Bregadze


F: Best documentary photo reflecting EU values

Winner: Sopo Aptsiauri

Honourable mentions: Natela Grigalashvili and Mano Svanidze


G: Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work (EUMM special prize)

Winner: Ketevan Magradze

Honourable mentions: Nino Lomadze, Giorgi Chagelishvili and Maya Pipia


The winners of the first six categories will receive a cash prize of approximately 6 000 GEL each, while the winner of the EUMM Special Prize will receive a one-month fellowship at the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London. 

The winning works can be found at


About the EU Prize for Journalism 2020

126 journalists and photographers, who published their works in the online, broadcast and print media between 15 October, 2019 and 15 December, 2020, submitted them for the EU Prize for Journalism 2020. 

All entries were reviewed and assessed by a four-member jury, composed of local and international media professionals:

  • Nino Ivanishvili, Dean of Caucasus School of Journalism and Media Management at Georgian Institute of Public Affairs with a 20-year working experience as a senior TV producer at Reuters Caucasus and CIS Countries’ Bureaus. In 2009 Nino was named Reuters Journalist of the Year for covering Russia-Georgia 2008 August War;
  • Eka Pirtskhalavalecturer and media trainer at the International Black See University, with 25 years’ experience in journalismAs a media consultant, she cooperates with media organisations in Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova and Azerbaijan with the support of international foundations. Eka has conducted hundreds of management and multimedia journalism trainings over the past 10 years and, in particular, promotes independent online media in the regions of Georgia;
  • Michael RandallEmmy Award-winning media consultant with more than 20 years’ experience in designing and implementing media development projects in the former Soviet Union, mostly on behalf of the BBC. In 2019, Michael led a 12-month needs assessment of independent media in the Eastern Partnership countries, including Georgia. His experience in Georgia also includes a project aimed at developing community radio stations in Javakheti and Kvemo-Kartli in partnership with Studio Re;
  • Justyna Mielnikiewicz, an award-winning photographer from Poland. Her works have been published internationally by The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Le Monde, Stern and National Geographic among others.  She is a winner of World Press Photo, Canon Female Photojournalist Prize, Caucasus Young Photographer Award by Magnum Foundation, Aftermath Project Grant and Eugene Smith Fund in 2016. Most important part of her work is devoted to personal, long term projects published as books. In 2014 her first Book was released: “Woman with a Monkey- Caucasus in Short Notes and Photographs“. In 2019 the author’s second book: “Ukraine Runs Through it “was shortlisted among 20 best books by Paris Photo and Aperture.

The jury had a consultative function while the final decisions were made by the EU Delegation and the EUMM. The award ceremony was held at the Holoseum in a digital format, respecting Covid-related safety measures.


More information is available at


Contact person: 

Tamriko Mikadze

Press and Information Officer

Delegation of the European Union to Georgia

Editorial Sections: