Delegation of the European Union to Georgia

European Union names winners of EU Prize for Journalism in Georgia 2018

29/01/2019 - 17:59
News stories

At a formal award ceremony in Tbilisi, the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia awarded the winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2018 in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism.   In addition, the European Union Monitoring Mission presented a special prize for conflict-sensitive journalism contributing to confidence building and peace.

Speaking at the ceremony, Mr. Carlo Natale, Deputy Head of Delegation of the European Union to Georgia, stated: “Professional, impartial and informative journalism is key for a democratic and pluralistic society. We remain committed to supporting quality journalism and freedom of the press in Georgia."

Head of the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia Mr. Erik Høeg used the occasion to underline, "Through this award we want to encourage reporting of a high professional standard on conflict issues as well as journalism that builds bridges between divided communities - thereby contributing to reconciliation and conflict resolution".

The winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2018 are:

  • Best story in print or online media: Mariam Abesadze (co-author: Nino Lomadze)
  • Sopo Bukia (Co-author David Pipia)
  • Tatia Khaliani (Co-author Sopo Aptsiauri)
  • Giorgi Lomsadze (Co-author Andrew North)


  • Best feature story in broadcast or online mediaLela Kuntchulia (Co-author Shio Khidasheli)
  • David Parulava
  • Giorgi Bolkvadze
  • Beso Gvenetadze


  • Best investigative story /feature in print, online, or broadcast media: Sopo Zurabiani (Co-authors David Gelenidze / David Maisuradze / Nodar Meladze)
  • Giorgi Farkosadze (Co-author Tskriala Shermadini)
  • Marika Dudunia (Co-author Giorgi Mgeladze)
  • Natalia Vakhtangshvili (Co-author Nino Zuriashvili)


  • Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print or online media: Nana Takvarelia
  • Vasil Guleuri
  • Shota Shvelidze
  • Levan Morchiashvili


  • The most innovative and original piece of work in print, online or broadcast mediaNino Bakradze (Co-authors Nino Lomadze, Nino Japiashvili)
  • Nastasia Arabuli
  • Tea Inasaridze (Co-author Lali Papaskiri, Levan Tabatadze)
  • Natia Amiranashvili (Co-author David Parulava)


  • Best documentary photo reflecting EU values: Nino Baidauri
  • Mari Nikuradze
  • Dato Koridze
  • Sopo Aptsiauri


  • Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work (EUMM Special Prize): Nikoloz Gablishvili
  • Zurab Balanchivadze
  • Kristina Marabyan


The winners of the first six categories received a cash prize of approx. 3800 GEL each, while the winner of the EUMM Special Prize will receive a one-month fellowship at the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London. 

All works were reviewed by a three-member jury composed of Zviad Koridze (Journalist), Mamuka Anguladze (Transparency International Georgia). Media programme manager and international journalist Silvia Stöber , expert on the South Caucasus.

Entries for the contest had to have been published/broadcast/posted between 2 November 2017 and 15 October 2018 in Georgian, English or Russian. For the Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work (EUMM Special Prize), entries in Abkhazian and Ossetian languages were also accepted. 

The winning works can be found at

For more information please contact: 

Tamriko Mikadze / The Delegation of the European Union to Georgia / 

Ana Kabzinadze / Communication programme EU4Georgia / Public campaign coordinator / / +995 577 777 163

Editorial Sections: