Delegation of the European Union to Georgia

Visa Free Travel comes into effect for Georgia

29/03/2017 - 14:22

From 28 March Georgian nationals with biometric passport can travel visa-free to the 26 countries of the Schengen Area and stay for 90 days in any 180-day period.

Celebrations in both Tbilisi and Brussels marked the entry into force of the visa waiver.

On 27-28 March the Georgian Government organised festivities in Tbilisi, including public advertising and decorations, a street festival along Aghmaneshibili Avenue and a gala concert on Europe Square.

On 28 March Georgian Prime-Minister Giorgi Kvirkashvili joined the first passengers traveling visa-free to Schengen Area countries and flew from Tbilisi airport to Athens to celebrate the entry into force of visa liberalisation. He went to Brussels on the same day to meet the president of the European Council Donald Tusk and the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker.

"Georgia has done a great job and achieved much. Today is a historic day for all of us and especially for Georgian people who from now on will be able to travel freely into the Schengen area. It is an important step to build an even closer EU-Georgia relationship" stated President Tusk.

Fro more information on visa liberalisation you can check:

Editorial Sections: