Delegation of the European Union to Georgia

About the EU Delegation to Georgia

11/05/2016 - 17:20
About us - structure and organisation

The Delegation of the European Commission to Georgia was opened in Tbilisi in September 1995.

Starting from 1 December 2009 with the Lisbon Treaty entering into force, the Delegation of the European Commission is transformed into the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia.

The Delegation in Tbilisi is one of over 130 European Union Delegations around the world.

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in Georgia.

The institutions of the European Union are the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

On 1 July 2013 the European Union completed its latest enlargement with the accession of Croatia. Today the European Union is made up of 27 Members States, has a population of around 450 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

The Delegation's mandate includes the following: 

  • To promote the political and economic relations between Georgia and the European Union by maintaining extensive relations with governmental institutions and by increasing awareness of the EU, it’s institutions and its programmes;
  • To monitor the implementation of the Association Agreement between the European Union and Georgia; 
  • To inform the public of the development of the EU and to explain and defend individual EU policies;
  • To participate in the implementation of the European Union's assistance programmes

Carl Hartzell was appointed Ambassador of the European Union to Georgia in September 2018. As the EU's top diplomat in the country, Ambassador Hartzell oversees the bilateral relationship between the European Union and Georgia, and the work of the Delegation including political and economic affairs as well as cooperation. He represents the Presidents of the European Council and the European Commission and works under the direct authority of the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy in implementing the EU’s foreign policy.

Follow the Ambassador on Twitter

Editorial Sections: