La Délégation de l'Union européenne au Gabon, Sao Tomé-et-Principe et la CEEAC 

EU boosts regional cooperation with 25 African countries

Bruxelles, 11/02/2019 - 12:09, UNIQUE ID: 190211_8
Press releases

Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica, signs in Addis Ababa additional support to regional programmes for 25 countries in Africa.

At this occasion, Commissioner Mimica said: "The additional investments I am signing today worth €225 million will strengthen job creation and stability in Eastern, Southern and Indian Ocean African countries, helping deliver on our Africa-Europe Alliance commitments”.
The additional cooperation funding will support economic integration and job creation, as well as
strengthen the nexus between development and security. Recent developments in the region have
generated a need for stronger support in these areas to overcome the growing challenges such as
population growth, adverse climate change effects, weak governance and the destabilising effects of international crime.
In concrete terms, three new actions are being envisaged, aiming at job creation and prosperity in Eastern and Southern Africa (€125 million), as well as urban coastal development (€80 million) and maritime security in the Red Sea area (€20 million).
The signing of the new actions takes place in the context of Commissioner Mimica's official visit to
Ethiopia where he met Ethiopia Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, African Union Chairperson, Moussa Faki, and the President of Zimbabwe Emmerson Mnangagwa. During this mission the European Commission, the African Union Commission and the International Trade Centre (ITC) set up the African Union Trade
Observatory, a key pillar of the African Continental Free Trade Area. Commissioner Mimica also visited neighbouring Eritrea on 8 February, where he met with President Afwerki.
Additionally, Commissioner Mimica signed a top-up of €7 million in bilateral funding with São Tomé and Príncipe.

Commissioner Mimica signed the additional support with the five regional organisations covered by the regional programme: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), East African Community (EAC), Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Indian Ocean Commission
(IOC) and Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).

This additional budget brings the overall financial envelope for the regional indicative programme to
€1490 million for the period 2014-2020. It focuses on three priority areas: regional economic
integration; peace, security and regional stability and regional management of natural resources.
The countries covered by this programme are: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti,
Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

For more information
Africa-Europe Alliance for sustainable investment and jobs
Progress factsheet – Africa-Europe Alliance for sustainable investment and jobs
Photos of Commissioner Mimica in Ethiopia
Press contacts:
Carlos MARTIN RUIZ DE GORDEJUELA (+32 2 296 53 22)
Christina WUNDER (+32 2 299 22 56)
General public inquiries: Europe Direct by phone 00 800 67 89 10 11 or by email

Reinforcing Africa-Europe Alliance
Équipes éditoriales: