Delegation of the European Union to Gabon, for Sao Tomé-and-Principe and ECCAS

São Tomé and Príncipe and the EU

26/05/2016 - 16:40
EU relations with Country

The European Union (EU) is one of the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe’s most important partners. Their relations are based on a regular political dialogue organised in accordance with the Cotonou Agreement.

Since the EU has no delegation in São Tomé and Príncipe itself, it is the European Union Delegation in Gabon that monitors the situation in the country.

São Tomé and Príncipe is a member of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) and an observer of the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC). It is also Executive Secretary of the Gulf of Guinea Commission (GGC) and, in May 2009, signed a technical agreement with Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon under the aegis of the Council for Peace and Security in Central Africa (COPAX) and the ECCAS for the joint surveillance of maritime security. 

The country is a beneficiary of the 11th EDF National Indicative Programme signed in Nairobi on 19 June 2014. A total of EUR 28 million was promised primarily in two major areas:

  1. Water and sanitation
  2. Improving the agricultural sector

The EU’s main objective in terms of external aid is to promote the implementation of the National Poverty Reduction Strategy with regard to the São Tomé and Príncipe government (PRSP II, 2012-2016).

The country will also benefit by contributing to the PALOP-Timor Leste Cooperation Programme (programme de coopération régionale PALOP/Timor-Oriental).

In 2006, a Fisheries Partnership Agreement was signed between São Tomé and Príncipe and the EU for a period of four years, tacitly renewable. It has been the object of successive Protocols, the last of which is still in progress.

You will find additional information on the European Commission’s website for the Fisheries Partnership Agreement.

Editorial Sections: