Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the four Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific


Displaying 51 - 60 of 1162

08/10/19 - Honiara, Solomon Islands – The Deputy Secretary-General of the European External Action Service, Mr Jean- Christophe Belliard, today visited the EU-funded solar hybrid project at Selwyn College to witness first-hand hundreds of students benefiting from safe and clean electricity.

The European Union (EU) and Solomon Islands have agreed on a number of steps to further strengthen their bilateral relationship, including in the common fight against climate change. This is the main outcome of the seventh High Level Political Dialogue, conducted today in Honiara, Solomon Islands under the co-chairmanship of Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade, MFAET, Trade Commissioner Ambassador Joseph Ma’ahanua and EEAS Deputy Secretary-General, Jean-Christophe Belliard.

07/10/19 - Honiara, Solomon Islands - The new Ambassador of the European Union (EU) for the Pacific, His Excellency Sujiro Seam presented his credentials to the Acting Governor-General of Solomon Islands His Excellency, Patteson Oti at a Government House ceremony today.

At the request of the Pacific States, the European Union organised a 2-day capacity building workshop on Rules of Origin, on 30 September and 1 October 2019, in Suva, Fiji. Officials from the Customs' Directorate-General (DG TAXUD) of the Commission shared experience with over 50 participants – customs and trade officials, and the private sector representatives – from the Pacific States (Fiji, PNG, Samoa Solomon Islands and Tonga).

The project aims to strengthen community resilience to climate change through increased management of sun and water use. One of the main objectives is the development of ecotourism and the economic improvement of communities.

With a contribution of USD 637,500 (EUR 562,500), the European Union aims to strengthen the capacity of the target communities of Dare in the Municipality of Dili to adopt climate-smart practices in mountain farming and improve food security for families by increasing and diversifying agricultural production.

O projeto tem como objetivo reforçar a resiliência da comunidade às alterações climáticas com a maior gestão da utilização do sol e dos recursos hídricos.


A trade seminar to explore the benefits of the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) between the European Union (EU), Fiji and Papua New Guinea (PNG) to Pacific businesses, local exporters and importers will be hosted by the Delegation of the European Union (EU) for the Pacific in collaboration with the University of the South Pacific's School of Economics in Suva on October 2nd.

On the occasion of the International Day of Democracy, the European Union reaffirms its commitment towards democracy as a fundamental right of every human being. Every woman and every man has to be free to participate to the political, economic and social life of her or his country. No one should fear to speak up, to demonstrate peacefully, to go to vote or to expect fair and inclusive policies from a government. Democracy can only function if participation and trust between democratic state institutions, governments and citizens are guaranteed.


Con motivo del Día Internacional de la Democracia, la Unión Europea ratifica su compromiso con la democracia como derecho fundamental de todo ser humano.