Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific


Displaying 131 - 140 of 157

The European Union Ambassador to Fiji, Tuvalu, and the Pacific, HE Andrew Jacobs is attending the EU supported Coalition of Atoll Nations on Climate Change (CANCC) Leaders Summit with Head of States and Government in Funafuti, Tuvalu this week.

The first enhanced political dialogue between the Independent State of Samoa and the European Union under Article 8 of the ACP-EU partnership (Cotonou) Agreement was held in Apia on 4 of October. The discussions covered political and economic developments in Samoa and the European Union as well as key strategic topics of mutual interest for both sides. The meeting was chaired on the Samoan side by the Honourable Prime Minister Tuilaepa Aiono Sailele Malielegaoi, and by HE Mr Andrew Jacobs, Head of Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific. Among the outcomes was an agreement by the parties to seek common lines to tackle key global challenges such as climate change and to strengthen their co-operation in regional and international matters of common concern.

The European Union (EU) and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) signed a short-stay visa waiver Agreement on Monday, 19 September, in New York within the margins of the United Nations General Assembly.

The new Deputy Head of Delegation Mr. Corrado Pampaloni will be officially welcomed on Thursday.

Before taking up his position at the Delegation in mid-September this year, Mr Pampaloni was the Head of Regional Centre Europe at the European External Action Service (EEAS) in Belgium, Brussels - a position he held from December 2015.

The European Union (EU) and the Republic of Kiribati today signed a 3.7 Million Euro energy project. The project is framed in the European Union –New Zealand energy partnership that was established at the Pacific Energy Summit in 2013, which has delivered renewable energy projects in Tuvalu, Samoa, the Cook Islands and Kiribati. At the Pacific Energy Conference held in Auckland, New Zealand in June, 2016, this partnership expanded to include Niue, Tonga, and the Northern Pacific.

By Andrew Jacobs, Michel Djokovic, Melanie Hopkins and Daniel Montilla Rubiales
H.E. Mr Andrew Jacobs is EU Ambassador for the Pacific. H.E. Mr Michel Djokovic is French Ambassador to Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Tonga and Tuvalu. H.E. Ms Melanie Hopkins is British High Commissioner to Fiji and Head of the UK South Pacific Network. Mr Daniel Montilla Rubiales is Spanish chargé d'affaires a.i. to Fiji.