Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the three Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific.

Albania : Joint statement by High Representative/ Vice-President Josep Borrell and Neighbourhood and Enlargement Commissioner Olivér Várhelyi on electoral reform

Brussels, 05/06/2020 - 21:27, UNIQUE ID: 200605_16
Joint Statements

We congratulate all parties on today’s important electoral reform political agreement. We welcome the inclusive process and commend the political willingness to reach consensus. This is an important achievement that will benefit the citizens of Albania.

The new Electoral Code provisions, once adopted by the Parliament, will give Albania an electoral process with higher integrity and transparency standards, based on OSCE/ODIHR recommendations, including the gradual depoliticisation of the electoral administration.

They address a key condition to start EU accession negotiations, as stated in the Council conclusions of March 2020, thereby moving Albania one step closer to its EU future.  This bodes well for future progress on reforms needed on Albania’s EU path.