Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the four Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific

EU Urges Pacific Leaders to Continue Spearheading International Work on Climate Change

14/07/2016 - 11:53
News stories

The Head of Cooperation of the European Union Delegation for the Pacific, Christoph Wagner, urged Pacific leaders to continue spearheading international work on climate change mitigation and adaptation, based on the success of the high-ambition coalition in the lead-up to Paris Agreement last November.

Mr Wagner made the call at the 4th Pacific Islands Development Forum (PIDF) Leaders' Summit in Honiara, Solomon Islands yesterday.

Mr Wagner explained EU's ongoing work to implement the Paris Agreement on mitigation - in order to reach the EU 40% reduction goal of green-house gas emissions by 2030. He also detailed the EU's efforts to support adaptation measures in developing countries with the EU being the largest contributor to international climate finance. For the Pacific, about half of the total seven-year envelope of EURO 750 million is going to climate-change related programmes such as renewable energy, disaster risk reduction and resilience.

Further discussions at the PIDF Leaders' Summit touched upon the use and protection of the oceans, and the particular role of the Pacific in climate change and the stewardship of the oceans.

Mr. Wagner said the COP 22 in Marrakesh, Morocco in November will be an important point to take stock and ensure implementation. The focus of the Moroccan Presidency will be on delivery on the ground, access to climate finance, outreach to non-state actors and adaptation in Africa.


Secciones editoriales: