Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the four Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific

EU Support to Rural Entrepreneurship, Investment and Trade in Papua New Guinea (STREIT PNG)

25/07/2019 - 09:49

Based on the development priorities of Papua New Guinea (PNG), the EU Support to Rural Entrepreneurship, Investment and Trade in Papua New Guinea (STREIT PNG) aims at improving sustainable and inclusive economic development and job creation in the Momase Region, with a specific focus on women, youth and climate change. The Project will enable ‘hard components’ (transport infrastructure, energy access) to be connected with ‘soft components’ such as financing, training, market access, trade and other value chain support services for commodities, facilitated by the sustainable implementation of digital technologies, services and solutions, under a conducive business environment in order to foster and stimulate climate resilient rural development activities. The geographical scope of the project will initially be focused on the East Sepik and Sandaun provinces. After the mid-term review of the project, cocoa value chain development activities will be considered for expansion to the neighbouring provinces of Morobe and Madang for those activities that require heavier localised investment.

With the signing of the Financing Agreement made recently by the Papua New Guinea Government, the Delegation of the European Union to Papua New Guinea makes availabe the following documents to the general public:


Editorial Sections: