Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the three Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific.

New European Union Ambassador to the Independent State of Samoa Presents Credentials

07/11/2017 - 04:28

The new Head of the European Union (EU) Delegation for the Pacific, His Excellency Ambassador Julian Wilson presented his credentials to His Highness Tuimalealiifano Vaaletoa Sualauvi II, Head of State, of the Independent State of Samoa at the State House on Wednesday 07/11/2017.

The Ambassador’s efforts will be focused on strengthening the bilateral and regional cooperation and partnerships at all levels in line with the common goals and guiding framework enshrined in the Cotonou Partnership Agreement.  


On his first official visit to Samoa, which earlier in the year hosted the 47th Pacific Island Forum, Ambassador Wilson said: ''The EU has been and will remain a reliable partner of Samoa. ''The EU has committed 20 EUR million for the period 2014-2020 to support the country's ambition to reduce poverty, improved water sanitation and hygiene, address human rights and gender issues and promote inclusive and sustainable development. Samoa is also benefitting from the EU's Pacific Regional Inductive Programme administered by the Pacific Islands Forum,'' I am confident that EU support to sectors such as water and sanitation, and support to the civil society, will be a major boost in addressing the developmental challenges in Samoa,''


''We value the strong foundations of our partnership and remain committed to contributing to the wellbeing of the Samoan people.'' added Ambassador Wilson.

Ambassador Wilson, prior to his posting as Head of the EU Delegation for the Pacific was the Acting Deputy Managing Director, Asia and the Pacific at the European External Action Services (EEAS). He has previously served as the EU Ambassador to Indonesia, Brunei, ASEAN, Sri Lanka and the Maldives.

Ambassador Wilson is a dual English and French citizen and will be based in Suva, Fiji.


Following the credential ceremony, Ambassador Wilson paid courtesy calls to the Prime Minister and the Chair of the Pacific Islands Forum, Hon. Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, Deputy Prime Minister, Hon. Fiame Naomi Mataafa, Minister of Finance, Hon. Sili Epa Tuioti and other senior government officials.


For further information, contact;  Mohammed Nazeem KASIM, EU Press Officer Suva, Fiji

Tel: +679 3313-633 Email: or

Download press release


Editorial Sections: