Delegation of the European Union for the Pacific
Responsible for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu as well as the three Overseas Countries and Territories in the Pacific.

Palau and the EU

26/05/2016 - 16:15
EU relations with Country

The Republic of Palau is an island in the north Pacific with a population of around 20,000, about 25% of whom are foreign nationals. It has few natural resources, apart from fisheries. Key issues include climate change, especially the deterioration of coastal zones, and sustainable energy supply.

Key instruments

ACP-EU Partnership Agreement

Development cooperation

Current EU assistance

EU assistance – €7.4 million since 2000 under the European Development Fund – will concentrate on sustainable and self-sufficient energy supply, mainly through renewables and energy efficiency, in particular:

  • implementing retrofitting priorities of Palau Government for existing government buildings.
  • running extensive energy efficiency campaigns through civil society organisations.
  • technical assistance to the office of the National Authorising Officer and the Palau Energy Administration.
  • strengthening the capacity of Palau Energy Administration.

Additional focus on:

  • Pro-Resilience El-nino
  • environmental protection and conservation of natural resources.

Funding in 2014-20 under the EDF


Indicative funding

As a % of the total

Energy efficiency



Measures in favour of civil society



Support measures (technical assistance for the NAO, technical cooperation facility, audit, evaluation)






Уреднички написи: