Delegation of the European Union to the Council of Europe


Displaying 71 - 80 of 498

The European Union recalls that respect for the rule of law is essential for the protection of human rights. The so-called "elections" held on 11 November in the so-called "Luhansk People's Republic" and "Donetsk People's Republic" are in breach of both international and Ukrainian law, and undermine the commitments undertaken under the Minsk agreements.

Abolition of death penalty is an explicit and absolute condition to become a Member of the European Union and also a prerequisite for membership to the Council of Europe. It represents a distinctive achievement of our continent.

8 October marked a day to pay tribute to Oyub Titiev and other human rights defenders, as well as journalists and media actors, who have shown great courage in pursuing and exercising their right to their profession, and to freedom of expression.

The reported recent violent intimidation of Amnesty International researcher Mr Oleg Kozlovsky on 6 October 2018, is another alarming example of harassment of human rights defenders.

We would like to specifically address the support given to human rights defenders, since this is one of the major priorities of the EU's external human rights policy.

The European Union expects the Russian authorities to abide fully by the international commitments Russia has made, including in the Council of Europe and the OSCE, to uphold these fundamental rights, and to release without delay the peaceful demonstrators and the journalists.

The EU marks ten years since the conflict between Russia and Georgia and expresses its unwavering commitment to a peaceful resolution of the conflict in Georgia. The EU reiterates its firm support for Georgia’s sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders.


ევროკავშირი რუსეთსა და საქართველოს შორის კონფლიქტის 10 წლისთავს აღნიშნავს და საქართველოში კონფლიქტის მშვიდობიანი გზით მოგვარების ურყევ მისწრაფებას გამოხატავს. ევროკავშირი კიდევ ერთხელ ადასტურებს საქართველოს სუვერენიტეტის, დამოუკიდებლობისა და საერთაშორისოდ აღიარებულ საზღვრებში ტერიტორიული მთლიანობის მტკიცე მხარდაჭერას.