Delegation of the European Union to the Council of Europe


Displaying 11 - 20 of 510

The first steering committee of the PGG for the Eastern Partnership took place on 15 October 2019 at the Council of Europe, gathering CoE representatives from the Directorate General of Programmes and External Relations, and representatives from the EU Commission and EU Delegations to Armenia, Georgia, Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova.

On the occasion of the Symposium on "The Future of Youth Participation" organized by the EU-CoE Youth Partnership (18-20 September, Strasbourg), Ambassador Kuneva delivered closing remarks to the participants, which included politically engaged young people, civil society organisations and movements, media representatives, influencers, policymakers, youth workers, educators and teachers.

The Council of the European Union adopted on 14 October 2019 conclusions on democracy.

The conclusions underline that in today's world, democracy is being challenged and called into question. While democracy remains strong in many countries, in others there is a growing trend towards authoritarianism. The Council notes that the challenges to democracy are multi-fold and need to be countered urgently and comprehensively.

Local EU Statement on the death penalty delivered during the 1356th Meeting of the Committee of Ministers (9 October 2019)

Speech on the history and future of EU-CoE cooperation by Mr Christian Leffler, Deputy Secretary General of the European External Action Service
(Strasbourg, 30 September 2019)

Déclaration de la Délégation de l'UE sur la non-reconnaissance des élections locales russes dans la péninsule de Crimée délivrée lors de la 1353e réunion du Comité des Ministres (11 septembre 2019):

Déclaration locale de l'UE sur la peine de mort aux États-Unis et au Belarus délivrée lors de la 1353e réunion du Comité des Ministres (11 septembre 2019):

EUDEL Statement on the non-recognition of Russian local elections in the Crimean peninsula delivered during the 1353rd Meeting of the Committee of Ministers (11 September 2019):