Delegation of the European Union to the Council of Europe

EU Statement on the continued illegal detention of Crimean Tatars by the Russian Federation

Brussels, 03/02/2021 - 12:05, UNIQUE ID: 210203_10
Statements on behalf of the EU

1394rd meeting of the Committee of Ministers on 3 February 2021

  1. The European Union does not recognise the enforcement of Russian legislation in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol as it is in breach of international law. The EU is deeply concerned about the continued detentions of Ukrainian citizens of inter alia Crimean Tatar origin by Russian authorities, of which the sentencing of Enver Omerov, Riza Omerov and Ayder Dzhapparov to 18, 13 and 17 years, respectively, is the latest example.
  2. We reiterate our call on Russia to immediately release all illegally detained Ukrainians and we urge Russia to fully comply with its obligations under the European Convention of Human Rights and international humanitarian law. We continue to call for full, free and unrestricted access for international human rights and humanitarian actors to the peninsula, including the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, independent experts and monitoring bodies.
  3. The EU reiterates its unwavering support to the sovereignty, territorial integrity, unity and independence of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders. We call upon Russia to do likewise. We urge Russia to uphold these fundamental rules and the principles of international law that it has itself invoked many times and to contribute, by acts and public pronouncements, to stabilising the situation and reversing moves that contravene these principles. We strongly condemn the clear violation of Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity through acts of aggression by the Russian armed forces since February 2014 and the illegal annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol to the Russian Federation, which we will not recognise. The European Union will remain committed to fully implementing its non-recognition policy, including through restrictive measures.

The following countries align with this statement: Albania, Andorra, Georgia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Republic of North Macedonia, Norway, Turkey and Ukraine

Editorial Sections: