Delegation of the European Union to Colombia

Postgraduate Fellowships at the European University Institute

22/11/2017 - 06:41
From the blog

Applications are now invited for Australian European University Institute Fellowships to undertake research at the European University Institute – the research institute established by the European Communities in 1972.

The Fellowships are available to researchers enrolled at or employed by an Australian university and who are currently undertaking research in history, law, economics, and social and political sciences who are able to identify a direct benefit for their research from a period of residence at the EUI. The Postgraduate applicants must be at an advanced stage of their research. The Postdoctoral Fellowship is available to those who have graduated with a PhD qualification within the last five years and who are enrolled in a postdoctoral programme at an Australian university. The Visiting Scholar Fellowship will be awarded to an established scholar who can demonstrate that a one-month period at the EUI would be beneficial both to the applicant’s research and to the EUI.

The Postgraduate Fellowship is for the three-month period September-December 2018.

The Postdoctoral fellowship is to be taken up for the period 8 January - 30 June 2019.

The visiting Scholar's tenure of one month is to be taken, by arrangement, in the period 8 January - 30 June 2019.


The Postgraduate Fellowships covers EUI fees for three months and provide a one-off payment of up to $7,000 to contribute to travel (including insurance) and subsistence.

The Postdoctoral Fellowship covers EUI fees for six months and provides a one-off payment of up to $12,000 to contribute to travel (including insurance) and subsistence.  As of 2018, this scholarship may be combined with a Max Weber Fellowship at the discretion of the AEUIFAI and the EUI selection committees;

For the Visiting Scholar, the AEUIFAI will cover EUI fees only.

The successful candidates will also have access to the facilities of the Monash University Prato Centre and are encouraged to participate in its activities. At the conclusion of their tenure, awardees must submit a one page report to the AEUIFAI on their activities and outcomes.


All applications and letters of support are to be emailed to by 15 March 2018. Please stipulate in the subject line of the email your ‘surname’, and whether your application is an ‘AEUIFAI Postdoctoral Application’ or an ‘AEUIFAI Postgraduate Application’ or a ‘Visiting Scholar Application’.


There is no special application form. Applications must include:

  • a CV;
  • a 2000 word description of the applicant’s research project (background, approach, methodology, significance), including the relevance of the EUI to the work to be covered during tenure there (please consult the EUI website for research interests of current faculty and related projects);
  • a 50 word abstract summarising the proposal and its significance;
  • Postdoctoral applicants must include plans to publish in a peer reviewed journal as a result of the period of residence at the EUI. The successful applicant should also be prepared to present a public lecture towards the end of their tenure (to be held at Monash Prato) or at their home institution after their return to Australia.
  • Postgraduate applicants must include a complete academic transcript.


Two confidential letters of support (including one from the thesis supervisor in the case of postgraduates) are to be sent directly by separate email cover. These confidential letters of support must not be sent by the applicants.


For further information on the AEUIFAI is available at please contact the Association's Secretary, Dr Ben Wellings (  The selection committee reserves the right not to appoint.


Applications close 15 March 2018. The successful applicants will be notified by late June 2018.


The Australian European University Institute Fellowships Association Incorporated and its award scheme is currently generously sponsored by Monash University, the University of Queensland, La Trobe University, and the University of Wollongong. In order to make possible the presence of Australians at the European University Institute, Florence, the AEUIFAI was established in 1995 as an independent body comprised of Australian universities and the Delegation of the European Union to Australia. Founding members were The Australian National University, Deakin University, Griffith University, Monash University, The University of Melbourne, and the Delegation of the European Union to Australia.

Խմբագրական բաժիններ: