Delegation of the European Union to China

Schuman Challenge

05/09/2017 - 21:44

Join the 2019 edition of the Schuman Challenge!

Join the 2019 edition of the Schuman Challenge!

The third edition of our EU-U.S. foreign policy contest for undergraduate students will take place at the EU Delegation to the U.S. on 14-15 February 2019. The topic for the 2019 Schuman Challenge is: "Supplementing the Minsk agreements: Taking additional steps in support of Ukraine's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders".

17 teams from across the United States will participate in the 2019 edition: U.S. Air Force Academy (CO); American University (DC); George Washington University (DC); Howard University (DC); Tufts University (MA); University of Missouri (MO); University of North Carolina (NC); Norwich University (VT); West Virginia University (WV); University of Michigan (MI); James Madison University (VA); University of Indiana (IA); Patrick Henry College (VA); William & Mary College (VA); California Polytechnic University San Luis Obispo (CA); Pepperdine University (CA); University of Washington (WA).

The judges for the first round will be: Caroline Vicini, Deputy-Head of the EU Delegation to the U.S.; Jamie Fly, director of the Future of Geopolitics program and the Asia program at the German Marshall Fund of the U.S., former foreign policy advisor to Marco Rubio during the 2016 campaign; Jorge Benitez, Director of NATOSource, professor at the U.S. Marine Corps Academy, and senior fellow at the Atlantic Council; Maria Belovas, Spokesperson, Head of the Press and Public Diplomacy Section, EU Delegation to the US (day 1 only); Dino Mihanovic, Counsellor, Political, Security and Development Section, EU Delegation to the US (day 1 only); Helena Boguslawska, Deputy-Head of the Political, Security and Development Section, EU Delegation to the US (day 2 only); and Christoph Heinrich, First Secretary, Political Department, German Embassy (day 2 only).

The judges for the final round will be: HE David O'Sullivan, EU Ambassador to the U.S.;

HE Karin Olofsdotter, Swedish Ambassador to the U.S.; Julie Fisher, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Western Europe and the EU;  Ishaan Tharoor, Foreign Affairs Writer, The Washington Post, Patrick Tucker, Technology Editor, Defense One.

The winners of the previous editions were West Virginia University (2018) and American University (2017).

You can find pictures of the 2018 edition here. And you can also engage on Twitter using the hashtag #SchumanChallenge.

Click here for complete rules and information.