Delegation of the European Union to Canada

Food identity and geographical indications in Western Canada

04/05/2021 - 01:31
Voices and views

SAVE THE DATE - 13 & 20 May 2021 

10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT/ 1:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm CET (90 minutes)

Geographical indications (GI) systems have seen a growing interest from producers, who are keen to gain recognition for their know-how. Consumers, too, are increasingly concerned with food quality, traceability and sustainability of agricultural production.

In the western provinces of Canada, the promotion of the local identity of products and the protection of the know-how of local producers are already well developed, particularly in the wine industry and in the indigenous culinary culture.

Do you want to know more about food, identity and origin schemes and their added value for producers, exporters and consumers in Western Canada?

Join us for a two-webinar series, on 13 and 20 May,  organised by the Delegation of the European Union to Canada and the EU Chamber of Commerce in Canada-West, in partnership with food and agricultural experts and producers of GI products.



Sign up 

on our GI’s platform to participate

 

Webinar 1

Food identity on a label: state of the art and prospects in Western Canada

Thursday, 13 May 2021 at 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT/ 1:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm CET (90 minutes)

  • Comparative approaches to GI legal regime in Canada and its provinces
  • EU approach to heritage and food labelling
  • The process of creating a GI
  • The benefits of GIs regime

 

Webinar 2

Food identity as a tool for local development: what do producers think?

 Thursday, 20 May 2021 at 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT/1:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm CET (90 minutes)

  • Why are GIs so popular as a form of food identity label in Europe? Pros and cons?
  • What are the societal impacts of GIs ?
  • How can food identity labels work as economic enablers?
  • Food identity and export: can GI regimes facilitate agrifood exports to Europe?

 

 

Sezioni editoriali: