Delegation of the European Union to Cambodia

EU-ASEAN relations, factsheet

Bruxelles, 31/07/2018 - 13:05, UNIQUE ID: 170803_7

The European Union’s relations with the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN): Brunei, Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam date back to 1977 when official “Dialogue Relations” began. In June 2015, the EU confirmed the adoption of a new strategy “The EU and ASEAN: a partnership with a strategic purpose”. In August 2017 during the EU-ASEAN Post-Ministerial Conference, the second EU-ASEAN Plan of Action (2018-2022) was agreed.