Delegation of the European Union to Brazil

Travel and study between the EU and Brazil

11/05/2016 - 15:08
Travel to the EU

Information about travelling to and studying in the European Union (EU), as well as contact details for European embassies.

There are so many things to discover for the traveller who wants to visit the 28 countries that are members of the EU. Travelling between these countries has become much easier since the creation of the so-called 'Schengen Area'. 
You can cross most borders within the EU without passing through any immigration procedures. Tourists with a valid Brazilian passport can travel freely within the Schengen Area without a visa for a period of up to 90 days. That means that you can enter and leave 25 Schengen countries without internal border controls. A passport is still required for crossing borders between Schengen and the few non-Schengen countries: UK, Ireland, Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus and Croatia. It is also important to know that Iceland, Norway and Switzerland are also members of the Schengen Area, even though they are not EU members.

Please keep in mind that even within the Schengen Area you should always keep your passport with you, as you might need it in case of a random identification check or security controls.
You should also know that 18 of the 28 member countries use the euro, the common currency of the euro zone, which saves time and money, because there is no need to exchange currencies every time you go to another EU country.

To get more information about travelling to and within the EU, visit the EU travel information site

Have a nice trip!

The European Union's Erasmus+ programme is a funding scheme to support activities in the fields of Education, Training, Youth and Sport in the period 2014-2020. Erasmus+ offers many opportunities of scholarships, for short or long periods of studies, for students, Ph.D candidates and academic staff of higher education institutions from all over the world.

Who can participate?

Erasmus+ is open to individuals and organizations, although the criteria for participation varies depending on type of action and country of origin.

Individuals and organizations may participate in Erasmus+ activities, many of them are managed by the higher education institutions from the programme countries. The criteria for participation are defined by the organizations of the Programme.

As a partner country, Brazil participates in the international credit mobility, which is managed by the national agencies of the programme countries, but also participates in the capacity building in higher education projects, the Joint Erasmus Mundus Masters and the Jean Monnet Action.

For more information about the criteria for participation, please see:

The Education and Culture Executive Agency of the European Commission is responsible for the management of Erasmus+ Capacity Building in Higher Education, Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters and Jean Monnet Action and the national agencies of the programme countries are in charge of the international credit mobility of Erasmus+.

Editorial Sections: