Delegation of the European Union to Brazil

About the EU Delegation to Brazil

11/05/2016 - 15:08
About us - structure and organisation

As of 1 December 2009 with the Lisbon Treaty entering into force, the Delegation of the European Commission turned into the Delegation of the European Union to Brazil. The Delegation in Brazil is one of over 130 European Union Delegations around the world. The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in Brazil. The institutions of the European Union are the European Commission, the European Parliament, the European Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice, the European Central Bank and the Court of Auditors.

On 1 January 2007 the European Union completed its fifth enlargement. Today the European Union is made up of 28 Members States, has a population of around 500 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

The Delegation's mandate includes the following:

  • To promote the political and economic relations between the EU and Brazil by maintaining extensive relations with governmental institutions and by increasing awareness of the EU, its institutions and its programmes;
  • To monitor the implementation of the EU/Brazil Strategic Partnership;
  • To inform the public of the development of the EU and to explain and defend individual EU policies;
  • To participate in the implementation of the European Union's assistance programmes

Acting Head of Delegation

Ms. Claudia Gintersdorfer

Head of Political, Economic and Public Affairs Section

Ms. Domenica Bumma

Head of Information Society

Carlos Oliveira

Head of Trade and Economy Section

Mr. Michele Villani

Head of Science, Technology & Innovation Section

Mr. Alejandro Zurita

Head of Development and Cooperation Section

Mr. Thierry Dudermel

Head of FPI-Regional Team Americas Section

Ms. Maria Rosa Sabbatelli

Head of Fianancial, Contracts Section

Ms. Karin Pouls-Robles

Head of Administration Section

Ms. Ana Hoyas Senan

Editorial Sections: