Delegation of the European Union to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean States, the OECS and CARICOM/CARIFORUM

ACP Internship Programme at European Investment Bank

11/02/2019 - 15:31
News stories

The ACP Internship Programme

Are you a university student or a recent graduate? Are you looking for work experience at the European Investment Bank (EIB), the European Union's financing institution? If so, you may be interested in the ACP Internship Programme.

The ACP Internship Programme, funded from the resources of the EU Member States, is open to students who are nationals of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Partner Countries[1]. The goal of this Internship Programme is to offer successful candidates an opportunity to improve their skills as well as the experience of working in a multicultural international environment.

Duration of the internship: 6 months, with possibility for extension up to a total of 12 months.

Who are we looking for?

The EIB seeks talented young individuals who wish to contribute towards improving people's lives by promoting economic and social progress in the ACP Partner Countries. This Programme seeks candidates specialising in a field relevant to international investment and development banking, such as finance, economics, law, as well as environment, engineering or urban planning.

Are you eligible?

All candidates who wish to be considered for the ACP Internship Programme must meet the following criteria:

  • be a national of an ACP Partner Country;
  • be proficient in English or French and have a working knowledge of the other language;
  • hold or be in the final year of a degree from an ACP Partner Country;
  • have demonstrated ability to conduct analytical work, to exercise good judgment and to work as part of a team;

[1] The programme is open to nationals of those ACP countries that ratified the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part (Cotonou Agreement), signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000 and revised in Luxembourg on 25 June 2005 and in Ouagadougou on 22 June 2010, and are eligible for development finance co-operation under the European Development Fund: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Bahamas, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Cook Islands, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.