Delegation of the European Union to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean States, the OECS and CARICOM/CARIFORUM

About the EU Delegation in Barbados

11/05/2016 - 14:43
About us - structure and organisation

The Delegation of the European Union to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean States, the OECS and CARICOM/CARIFORUM is part of the European External Action Service (the EU's "Foreign Service") and is one of the 140 Delegations around the world. Based in Barbados, it also represents the EU to Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The Delegation is also responsible for relations with three Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs), Anguilla, British Virgin Islands and Montserrat.

The Delegation opened its first offices in Barbados in 1976 and today the partnership is defined by the Cotonou Agreement and the CARIFORUM-EU Economic Partnership Agreement (EPAs).

The role of the Delegation is to  promote the values and policies of the European Union, in an open and equal partnership with the Governments and people of Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean; to implement development and trade policies focussing on poverty alleviation and on the promotion of democracy, Human Rights and the Rule of Law as well as the smooth and gradual integration of the countries into the world economy; to deepen the political dialogue on all issues of mutual interest and to strengthen the partnership; and to support CARICOM regional integration as well as the planned development regional policies, programmes and institutions.

France is the only EU Member State to have an embassy to which this Delegation is accredited, though many are represented by Honorary Consuls. Spain has a Charge' based in St Lucia. The task of the Delegation, beyond the representation of European Community interests, is one of co-ordination and co-operation with these missions.

Welcome to the website of the Delegation of the European Union to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean States, the OECS and CARICOM/CARIFORUM. Our Delegation represents the European Union in seven countries in the region. These are Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines. The Delegation is also accredited to the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat and the Caribbean Forum (CARIFORUM).

In having this web presence, our hope is to bring to you as much information as possible on the European Union and our long-standing relationship with the countries of the Eastern Caribbean to which the Delegation is accredited, and more generally with the wider Caribbean Region.

Over the years we have built a strong partnership with the countries of the Eastern Caribbean with whom we are bound in a joint effort of development co-operation. This effort, underpinned by the successive Lomé Conventions, the Cotonou Agreement signed in 2000, and now the recent successor to the Cotonou (Post-Cotonou Agreement) is aimed at improving the conditions of life of the populations in the beneficiary countries through sustainable programmes.

Many areas of substantial importance to the countries in the region receive assistance: Climate Change, trade, tourism, education, health, the environment as well as the economic infrastructure, to facilitate economic diversification.

In the context of the EU Lisbon Treaty, which came into force in December 2009, the Delegation has now assumed the role of representing, coordinating and negotiating on behalf of the European Union through the European External Action Service. The Head of Delegation reports to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, who is also a Vice President of the European Commission, Josep Borrell. This is aimed at increasing coherence of action of the European Union in all aspects of its external dimension.

I hope this website will help bring closer to the general public the vast co-operation programme that has made the European Union the largest grant aid development partner in the region.

Additionally, on this website you will find many interesting links to the vast European Union website Europa and the websites of many of the European Union's Member States, plus other regional websites, all providing rich sources of information.

A website is a live tool and we promise to make every effort to keep it continuously updated, so why not create a bookmark on your computer and come visit us as often as you wish? You can also direct your queries to You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Head of Delegation

Head of Delegation

Malgorzata Wasilewska
Personal Assistant to the Head of Delegation
Birgit Hauk

Political, Press and Information Section

Ovidiu-Viorel Naftanaila
Press and information Officer
Wayne Lewis
Lorraine Forde
Trade Matters
Trade Policy Manager
Arkadiusz Szymanski
Trade Policy Officer
Carlene Knight-Hamilton

Development Co-operation Section

Head of Co-operation
Luis Maia
Karen Harris-Nicholls

Regional Co-operation & Trade Support

 Team Leader - Felipe de la Mota
Programme Officer - Regional Integration & Trade
Mariana Arias
Programme Manager – Security, Human Rights and Civil Society
Luc Patzelt
Programme Manager – Regional Integration and Education
Stephen Boyce
Programme Officer - Economic Partnership Agreement
Sheldon Jackman
Patricia Roach

Economic & Social Development Support  

Team Leader - Janet Coto Moreno
Programme Officer – Health
Jeannine Blanchard
Programme Officer – Economic Affairs
Gael Griette
Programme Officer – Economic & Social Affairs
Kyle Walrond
Programme Officer – Private Sector Development
Celine Anselme
Aileen Whitehall

Green Economy and Resilience Support   

Team Leader -
Bogdan Stefanescu
Programme Officer – Disaster Risk Reduction
Pascal Ledroit
Programme Officer – Engineering and Infrastructure
Jose Legarra
Programme Manager – Climate Change (National Action)
Donna Gittens
Programme Officer - Climate Change (International Action)
Susana Fuertes
Programme Officer - Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
Kyle Farnum
Sonia Agard

Finance, Contracts and Audit Section  

Laurent Bal
Finance, Contracts & Audit Officer
Jirina Borikova
Finance, Contracts & Audit Officer
Romain Darjinoff
Finance & Contracts Officer
Francesco Greco
Finance & Contracts Officer
Rosella Moresca
Finance & Contracts Officer
Nykola Cumberbatch
Project Accountant
Maria Stefanescu
Project Accountant
Ray Morris
Project Accountant
Adel Chalmers
Louella Charles

Administration Section  

Veronica Gallo
Regional IT Officer
Administrative Assistant
Marguerite Spooner
Administrative Support
246- 434-8515
Editorial Sections: