Delegation of the European Union to Azerbaijan

About the EU Delegation to Azerbaijan

11/05/2016 - 14:26
About us - structure and organisation

Delegation of the European Union to Azerbaijan

The Delegation of the European Commission to Azerbaijan was opened in Baku in February 2008.

Starting from 1 December 2009 with the Lisbon Treaty entering into force, the Delegation of the European Commission was transformed into the Delegation of the European Union to Azerbaijan.

The EU Delegation in Baku is one of 140 European Union Delegations around the world.

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in Azerbaijan.

The institutions of the European Union are the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

Today the European Union is made up of 27 Members States, and has a population of around 450 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

The Delegation's mandate includes the following: 

  • To promote the political and economic relations between Azerbaijan and the European Union by maintaining extensive relations with governmental institutions and by increasing awareness of the EU, it’s institutions and its programmes;
  • To monitor the implementation of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement between the European Union and Azerbaijan; 
  • To inform the public of the development of the EU and to explain EU policies;
  • To participate in the implementation of the European Union's assistance programmes

Peter Michalko,

Ambassador, Head of EU Delegation 

Head of Delegation

Head of Political, Economics and Press & Information Section 

Head of Cooperation Section

Head of Finance Contracts & Audit Section

Head of Administration 

Editorial Sections: