Delegation of the European Union to Australia

Travel and study in the EU

10/05/2018 - 13:30
Travel to the EU

Australians can enjoy travel and educational opportunities within the European Union as evidenced by the range of joint educational activities available, along with simplified travel procedures.

Australian passport holders enjoy simplified travel procedures when travelling to the European Union and also benefit from a wide range of educational opportunities available to them. If you hold an Australian passport, you will not require a visa to enter the EU as long as your stay is no longer than 90 days within any 180 day period.

If you are not an Australian passport holder you may need to obtain a "Schengen Visa". Please refer to our Frequently Asked Questions to obtain further information.

The Schengen Area is one of the greatest achievements of the EU. It is an area without internal borders, an area within which citizens, many non-EU nationals, business people and tourists can freely circulate without being subjected to border checks. Since 1985, it has gradually grown and encompasses today almost all EU States and a few associated non-EU countries.

In case of a crisis, you should try to obtain as much information as possible about the development of the crisis through Australian news broadcasts. You should be aware of any particular instructions or advice issued by your Embassy. In the case of certain EU Member States' Embassies, this may be found on the Embassy's website. 

The EU and Australia have a vibrant, longstanding relationship in the field of education guided by the 1997 Declaration of Intent covering joint mobility projects and study, as well as policy dialogues amongst other activities. This was reinforced with the 2007 Joint Declaration.

Ongoing initiatives within partner countries:

  • EU Mobility Partnerships in Higher Education and Training with Industrialised Countries: Universities and training institutions in Europe, along with partners, including Australia, run study modules and exchanges. They are jointly funded and supervised by the European Commission and the governments of their partner countries.
  • Europe Centres encourage greater awareness and knowledge of EU institutions and policies through EU-focussed curriculum development and research, outreach activities and academic links.
    There are now five Centres in Australia and one in New Zealand.
  • The Erasmus + programme replaces Erasmus Mundus and is an EU cooperation and mobility programme in the fields of education, training, youth and sport for the period 2014-2020. It offers a range of opportunities for students, doctoral candidates, staff and institutions from around the world. For Australia, as a Partner Country, there are three opportunities in higher education: International Credit Mobility; Erasmus Mundus Joint Master degrees; and Jean Monnet Activities with EU funding available.
  • Australian European University Fellowships Foundations Association Incorporated (AEUIFAI) is a grouping of several Australian Universities and has entered into a cooperation agreement with the European University Institute in Florence aimed at running an exchange programme between Australian and European students.

Useful information:

Editorial Sections: