Delegation of the European Union to Albania

Young people from Albania to have their say on the future of Europe

Tirana, 20/12/2016 - 10:05, UNIQUE ID: 161219_11
Press releases

Jordan Misja School students to participate in YEYS Youth Assembly

The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has selected Jordan Misja School from Albania to participate in the 2017 edition of Your Europe Your Say (YEYS), the Committee's annual youth assembly which debates the major challenges facing Europe.


From over 680 applications, 33 schools - one from each of the 28 EU Member States and 5 candidate countries (Albania, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey) were selected in an open draw, in the presence of EESC Vice President Gonçalo Lobo Xavier and EESC members Katiana Vicens Guillén and Indrė Vareikytė.


Organised during the 60th anniversary year of the Treaty of Rome, the 2017 edition of "Your Europe, Your Say" will give young people the chance to propose solutions to the major political challenges facing Europe.  Each school will send a delegation of three 16- to 17-year-old students and a teacher to Brussels to participate in the youth plenary session on 30-31 March 2017. The students will debate and vote on the political challenges facing the EU and suggest their own solutions. 

YEYS preparations will kick off in early 2017 with a visit of an EESC member from each country to each of the selected schools to help students prepare for the youth plenary, introducing them to the EESC and explaining its role in the EU decision making process.


Through this initiative the EESC, the voice of civil society, aims to ensure that the views, experiences and ideas of the younger generation are heard in EU policy making.

For more information, please contact

Aikaterini Serifi - EESC Press Unit


Tel: +32 2 546 9175


The European Economic and Social Committee represents the various economic and social components of organised civil society. It is an institutional consultative body established by the 1957 Treaty of Rome. Its consultative role enables its members, and hence the organisations they represent, to participate in the EU decision-making process. The Committee has 350 members from across Europe, who are appointed by the Council of the European Union.


Editorial Sections: