Delegation of the European Union to the African Union

EU at the Opening Ceremony of the 30th Ordinary Session of the African Union Assembly

30/01/2018 - 11:55
News stories

The 30th Session of the African Union Assembly opened on January 28th, bringing together the Heads of State and Government of all AU Member States, Officials of the AU Commission and Organs, and representatives of AU partners, including the Secretary-General of the United Nations, Antonio Guterres. The European Union was represented by Neven Mimica, the European Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development.

In his speech at the Ceremony, AUC Chairperson Moussa Faki Mahamat commended AU-UN-EU trilateral cooperation on peace and security matters and the swift action of the Joint Taskforce to Address the Migrant Situation in Libya, set up at the AU-EU Summit in Abidjan in November 2017. He also referenced the Abidjan Summit as an instance of successful strategic partnership.


The election of the President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, as Chairperson of the African Union for 2018, was formally announced at the Ceremony, while the AU theme of the year, “Winning the Fight against Corruption: A Sustainable Path to Africa's Transformation”, was launched by the AU Gender Champion, Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari.


The Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Excellence Awards, supported by the EU since 2012, were presented during the Ceremony to Algerian and South African scientists Malek Maaza and Robert Peter Millar.


The full opening session can be streamed online at

Editorial Sections: