This site has been archived on 04 October 2017
orgánico a base de hierbas kamagra España dañado el remedio de cabello propecia España Remedios naturales contra la gripe

History of the Delegation

On August 11, 1952, the United States became the first non-member country to provide international recognition to the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the precursor to today’s European Union.

Then-US Secretary of State Dean Acheson sent a diplomatic dispatch on behalf of President Truman to Jean Monnet, serving as the first President of the Community’s High Authority, the forerunner of the European Commission, which stated:

“As appropriate under the Treaty, the United States will now deal with the Community on coal and steel matters…All Americans will join me in welcoming this new institution and in expressing the expectation that it will develop as its founders intended, and that it will realize the hopes so many have placed in it.”

One year later the United States established its representation to the ECSC in Brussels. Monnet reciprocated in 1954 by choosing Washington as the site of the ECSC’s first external presence.

In 1972, the Delegation received full diplomatic recognition from the Nixon Administration, becoming the Delegation of the European Commission. With the December 1, 2009, entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon, it became the Delegation of the European Union to the United States of America and part of the European External Action Service.

*Adapted from Mike Mosettig, “Building European Ties in Washington: Europe’s US Delegation 40 Years Later.”

Heads of the Delegation of the European Union to the United States (following the Treaty of Lisbon):

Heads of the Delegation of the European Commission to the United States (prior to the Treaty of Lisbon):

  • 2010 to 2014: João Vale de Almeida
  • 2009 to 2010: Angelos Pangratis (acting)
  • 2004 to 2009: John Bruton (former Irish Taoiseach)
  • 2000 to 2004: Günter Burghardt
  • 1995 to 1999: Hugo Paemen
  • 1989 to 1995: Andreas van Agt (former Dutch Prime Minister)
  • 1982 to 1989: Sir Roy Denman
  • 1981 to 1982: Roland de Kergorlay
  • 1977 to 1981: Fernand Spaak
  • 1974 to 1977: Jens Otto Krag
  • 1971 to 1974: Aldo Mario Mazio

EU Matters: Celebrating 60 Years in Washington DC–the European Union in the United States