Travelling to the EU

* Disclaimer *
The information in this page are for guidance only and do not replace or subsitute national legislation. Please contact the diplomatic mission of the country you intend to visit for up to date travel information. If you are subject to special circumstances (e.g. convinction, intending to work, get married, join partner or family for a long stay etc.) or if you have any doubts please contact the relevant diplomatic mission.

Schengen Area

The Schengen Area is the representative of the collective of 26 European countries that have mutually decided to eliminate passport and immigration controls at their joint borders. Within the Schengen Area, concurrently, the citizens of these 26 European countries are free to travel in and out of this zone as one single country sharing equal international travel rights. The citizens of the Schengen zone countries cherish the right to migrate internationally without any limitations, the basis of free movement, one of the basic human rights. For more information please visit

The Schengen Area countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Spain and Sweden.

When travelling to the European Union please bear in mind that not all EU Member-States belong to the Schengen Area. Of these countries, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania have unilaterally recognised certain documents (e.g. a Schengen visa) as equivalent to their national visas for transit through or intended stays on their territories not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period.

Visiting the United Kingdom: Holders of a valid New Zealand passport do NOT require a visa to visit the UK as long as they are staying for 6 months or less AND they do NOT intend to do paid or unpaid work. For full information on what you can and can't do in the UK when visiting without a visa please click here or contact the UK High Commission in New Zealand.

Short Stays in the Schengen Area (less than 3 months)

When travelling to the Schengen Area, foreign citizens must apply for a Schengen short-stay visa, which enables them to travel freely throughout the Schengen Area for a maximum period of 90 days in any 180-day period (with multiple entries and exits).

New Zealand is however on a list of third-countries (outside the European Union, the European Economic Area and the Schengen Zone) whose citizens do NOT require a visa to visit the Schengen Area for less than 90 days within a 180-day period.

New Zealand citizens benefit from this short-stay visa waiver, as long as they (a) do not intend to work; (b) hold a passport valid for at least 3 months after date of return; and (c) have a return ticket. Border officials in EU countries may ask for other supporting documents such as for example an invitation letter, proof of lodging, return or round-trip ticket. For the precise requirements contact the local consular services of the Schengen country in question.

The following webpage of the European Commission provides an explanation on the calculation of the duration of stays in order to comply with this rule:

New Zealand nationals are advised to ensure that their passport is stamped on entry and exit at the external borders of the Schengen Area. It is important to have evidence of the date of entry into the Schengen Area for any potential subsequent contact with local police or other authorities. It is also advisable to retain some informal evidence of time spent in particular Schengen countries (e.g. accommodation receipts, ATM slips).

Longer/working/studying stays in Schengen Area

For stays in the territory of the Schengen Area which are longer than 90 days within any 180-day period, or for studying or working purposes, a national visa of the respective Schengen country is required.

For more information please consult:

It is highly recommended that you consult the country's consular offices of your destination, in order to obtain more detailed information and/or make your visa application. The Schengen countries with consular offices in New Zealand are:

CountryWebsite / EmailAddressOpening Hours

Embassy of France

34-42 Manners Street,

12th floor of Sovereign House,

Wellington 6011

9 a.m. - 1 p.m., Monday-Friday

Embassy of Germany

90-92 Hobson Street,


Wellington 6011

8 a.m. - 12 p.m., Monday-Friday

Embassy of Italy

34-38 Grant Road,


Wellington 6011

9 a.m. - 1 p.m., Monday-Friday

3 p.m. - 4.45 p.m., Wednesday

The Netherlands

Embassy of the Netherlands

10th Floor, Investment House (PSIS House),

Corner Ballance and Featherston Streets,

Wellington 6011

10 a.m. - 12.30 p.m., Monday-Thursday

Embassy of Poland

Level 9, City Chambers,

142-144 Featherston Street,

Wellington 6011

10 a.m. - 2 p.m., Tuesday-Friday

Embassy of Spain

Level 11, BNZ Trust House Bldg,

50 Manners Street,

Wellington 6011

9 a.m. - 5.30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Embassy of Switzerland

Level 12, Maritime Tower,

10 Customhouse Quay,

Wellington 6011

8.30 a.m. - 12 p.m., Monday-Friday

For more information, helpful tips and a map of Europe, see Travelling in Europe.