This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
Home  >  Connect With Us  >  Visiting Europe - Visa Information

Visiting Europe - Visa Information

Visiting Europe – where to go for a visa

The Delegation does not issue visas. Visas are issued by the embassies of the Member States.

Japanese nationals do not normally need a visa for short-term travel to Europe. However, if in any doubt please contact the nearest embassy of the country that you wish to travel to. Stays of over 90 days may require a visa.

Please note that when travelling to the EU, passports need to be valid for at least 3 months after the date you intend to leave the EU country you are visiting, and they should have been issued within the previous 10 years. See


The Schengen Area

The Schengen agreement abolished border controls at the borders between 22 EU countries, but put in place effective controls at the external borders of the EU and provided for a common visa policy. The EU countries which are Schengen members are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. EU countries which are not Schengen members are Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are also Schengen members, but are not part of the EU.

When traveling to non-Schengen countries and when entering or leaving Schengen countries at the EU's external borders, you will still need to present a valid passport.

As noted above, Japanese nationals do not normally need visas for short trips to the EU, including the Schengen Area, but for longer stays, and in case of doubt, please contact the embassy of the country that you plan to travel to.


schengen sis ii 620x375


Updated 2015.04.23