Embassies and High Commissions

Members of the European Union

The EU, in the form of the European Economic Community, began in 1957 with six Member States: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

There have been six enlargements since then, the first in 1973 to include Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom; the second in 1981 adding Greece; the third in 1986 involving Portugal and Spain, the fourth in 1995 incorporating Austria, Finland and Sweden. The fifth wave of enlargement took place on 1 May 2004, and added ten countries: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. Bulgaria and Romania joined on 1 January 2007, completing this fifth enlargement.

Croatia joined the European Union on 1 July 2013, bringing the total of EU Member States to 28.

Acceding and Candidate Countries

To learn more about each of the countries which have applied to become members of the European Union and have been granted candidate country status, visit the individual country profiles which contain facts and figures; key information and documents; press releases, speeches and the latest news; as well as links to other information about the country in question.

Download contact details of European Union Member State embassies and high commissions in Australia pdf - 43 KB [43 KB]