

PC.DEL/847/09 29 October 2009

ENGLISH only

Swedish Presidency of the European Union

OSCE Permanent Council No. 778 Vienna 29 October 2009

EU statement on death penalty in the USA

The EU has taken note of the postponement of the execution of Mr. Romell Broom in the state of Ohio, due to problems during the process of his attempted execution on 22 September.

The European Union reiterates its longstanding position on the use of death penalty. We oppose the use of capital punishment in all cases and under all circumstances and have consistently called for its universal abolition. We believe that the abolition of the death penalty is essential to protect human dignity, and to the progressive development of human rights. The EU considers this punishment cruel and inhuman. It has not been found to act as a deterrent, and any miscarriage of justice – which is inevitable in any legal system – is irreversible. Consequently, the death penalty is abolished throughout the European Union.

The EU also recalls the resolution adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 18 December 2008 that reaffirms its resolution adopted in December 2007, which expressly calls upon

Telephone +43 (0) 1 217 53 0 Fax

+43 (0) 1 217 53 380

all states that still maintain the death penalty to establish a moratorium as a first step towards abolishing the death penalty.

Moreover, with regard to the case of Mr. Romell Broom, we find that subjecting a person to a second attempt of lethal execution would be particularly cruel and inhuman treatment, and punishment in contradiction with basic human rights standards.

The European Union takes this opportunity to renew its call to the United States federal and state authorities for a moratorium on the application of the death penalty, pending its complete legal abolition.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA* and the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and ARMENIA align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.