

PRESS INFORMATION NOTICE

Dhaka, 2 June 2016

'Erasmus+' scholarship for academic year 2016-17 68 scholarships for Bangladesh

Ambassador Pierre Mayaudon, Head of Delegation of the European Union to Bangladesh, hosted a reception today in Dhaka for 68 Bangladeshi students who will benefit from an EU scholarship of the 'Erasmus+' programme. The event included two short presentations on other EU projects for higher education: "Trans-Eurasia Information Network" (TEIN) and "Advancing Skill Creation to Enhance Transformation" (ASCENT). Representatives of EU Member States diplomatic missions and Honorary Consulates took part in the event. The EU Ambassador said: "Relations between EU and Bangladesh in the area of higher education are developing in a very positive way. Higher education is an important tool to build long-term, durable relations between citizens of Europe and Bangladesh".

The 'Erasmus+' programme aims at enhancing the quality of higher education by promoting dialogue as well as understanding between people and cultures through mobility and academic cooperation.

This year, 40 Bangladeshis were selected to study in Europe for completing Masters or Doctorates. Another 28 Bangladeshi nationals were selected through strategic partnerships to pursue courses of different duration at EU Member States academic institutions working in partnership with Bangladeshi universities.

A European Higher Education Roadshow in Bangladesh will be organized in November 2016 to reinforce the relations between Bangladeshi and European universities.

More information on the 'Erasmus+' programme can be found on the following website:

http://eacea.ec.europa.eu/erasmus-plus_en

For more information please contact:



Jürgen Heimann Team Leader, Human and Social Development EU Delegation, Dhaka, Bangladesh Jurgen.Heimann@eeas.europa.eu

Delegation of The European Union In Bangladesh Plot 7, Rd 84, Gulshan 2 Dhaka 1212, Bangladesh Tel: 880-2-55668057 Fax: 880-2-9843118 The European Commission is the EU's executive body.

"The European Union is made up of 28 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders".