

Second Media Advisory

EU-Myanmar Task Force

Yangon, 12 November 2013

The first EU-Myanmar Task Force will take place **13-15 November** in Yangon and Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar.

High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the European Commission **Catherine Ashton** will co-chair the Task Force together with Minister in the President's office of Myanmar **U Soe Thane**.

European Commission Vice-President **Antonio Tajani** (Industry and Entrepreneurship) and Commissioners **Andris Piebalgs** (Development and Cooperation) and **Dacian Ciolos** (Agriculture and Rural Development) will also participate in the Task Force.

The European Parliament will be represented by Vice-President Isabelle Durant and MEPs Elisabeth Jeggle, Cristian Dan Preda, Csaba Sogor, David Martin and Robert Goebbels.

The purpose of the Task Force is to provide comprehensive support to the transition in Myanmar by bringing together all of the tools and mechanisms – both political and economic (development aid, peace process support, investments) – available to the EU.

Indicative programme

Thursday, 14 November, UMFCCI, Yangon

• **Opening session at 09:00**: with addresses by HR/VP Ashton and Union Minister U Soe Thane. This will be **open to accredited press**.

The opening session will be followed by discussions in three different fora, all starting at **09:30**. They will be partially open to accredited press and press points with different participants will be organised in the margins:

 Business Forum: Panel discussion co-chaired by VP Tajani and Union Minister in the President's office of Myanmar U Tin Naing Thein. The first part will be open to accredited press. The second part (starting at 11.30) will take place in different working groups (*Energy and Infrastructure, Manufacturing, Business*) *Environment, Agri-Business & Tourism*). The opening remarks of these working groups will be open to accredited press.

- **Democratic Civil Society Forum:** Round-table discussion co-chaired by HR/VP Ashton and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi. This event is by invitation only.
- **Development Forum:** The first part is a closed session on the joint programming of EU's future support to Myanmar. At **11.30** there will be a moderated panel discussion on Myanmar's development priorities and challenges which will be open to accredited press. It will be co-chaired by Dr Kan Zaw, Union Minister for National Planning and Economic Development and Andris Piebalgs, European Commissioner for Development.

Friday, 15 November, Myanmar International Convention Centre, Nay Pyi Taw

- Task Force Plenary session at 09:00: with welcome address by President U Thein Sein & HR/VP Ashton. Open to accredited press.
- Signing ceremonies at 09:30, open to accredited press.

The plenary session will be followed by three sessions, closed to the press:

- Task Force Economic Session: co-chaired by HR/VP Ashton and U Soe Thane.
- Inter-parliamentary Session: opened by VP EP Isabelle Durant and Speaker of Myanmar Parliament Thura Shwe Mann.
- Task Force Political Session: co-chaired by HR/VP Ashton and U Aung Min.
- **Press conference at 16:00** by Co-Chairs at the end of the Task Force will be open to all accredited press.

Press accreditation

There will be a possibility of last minute accreditation, upon a presentation of the valid press credentials.

Press queries

HR/VP Ashton	maja.kocijancic@ec.europa.eu +95 94 10 10 211
	eamonn.prendergast@ec.europa.eu +95 94 10 10 220
	ross.church@eeas.europa.eu +95 94 10 10 237
VP Tajani	<pre>carlo.corazza@ec.europa.eu +32 498 992 862</pre>
Commissioner Cioloş	roger.waite@ec.europa.eu +32 498 961 404
Commissioner Piebalgs	alexandre.polack@ec.europa.eu +32 460 790 677

More information

Task Force Website: <u>http://www.myanmar-eutaskforce.com/index.php</u>

EU-Myanmar relations: <u>http://eeas.europa.eu/myanmar/</u>

Live updates: <u>www.storify.com/EEAS/eu-myanmar-task-force</u>