EU Relations with Mongolia

EU relations with Mongolia have been developing positively and comprehensively since 1989. The EU regards Mongolia as an important partner and is involved in national and regional cooperation activities on the ground.

In April 2013, a Partnership and Cooperation Agreement was signed during the visit of High Representative/Vice President Catherine Ashton. The Agreement provides the legal framework for expanding EU-Mongolia relations and covers such issues as political dialogue, trade, development assistance, cooperation in the field of agriculture and rural development, energy, climate change, research and innovation, education and culture. In November 2013, President Jose M. Barroso visited Mongolia. It was the first time ever a President of the European Commission has visited the country and was a further milestone in this blossoming relationship.


The EU has become Mongolia’s third biggest trading partner, and Mongolian goods already enter the EU market virtually tariff-free under the current Generalized System of Preferences.

Development cooperation

The EU has budgeted €15m for development cooperation with Mongolia for 2011-13. The programme for 2014-20 will be announced shortly.

Four EU member countries have embassies in Mongolia – the Czech Republic, France, Germany and the United Kingdom. The others are accredited from Beijing – including the EU's delegation which has a liaison officer based in Ulaan Baator.