Latest NewsRSS

  • 29/07/2014
    European Union supports key reforms in the Republic of Moldova
  • 01/07/2014
    Western Balkans countries, Moldova sign up to Horizon 2020
  • 27/06/2014
    10 88812 1 _blank EU forges closer ties with Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova EU forges closer ties with Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova

    Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova took a big step toward closer ties with the EU as they signed Association Agreements with the EU on 27 June. This is a symbolic moment for all three countries.

    /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_en.htm /top_stories/images/270614_association-agreement.jpg
    06/27/2014 12:30:00 06/27/2014 12:30:00 06/27/2014 12:30:00 nulldate 2014062712 090126248c2ea4cf N 090126248c39d892 /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_en.htm 10127 xml Y /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_en.htm 2 /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_en.htm /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_fr.htm /top_stories/2014/270614_association_agreement_zz.htm N ID_INTERNAL N N
    EU forges closer ties with Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova

More news

Moldovian traditional popular dance the HoraMoldovian traditional popular dance the Hora

The EU's increasingly close relationship with the Republic of Moldova goes beyond cooperation, encompassing gradual economic integration and deeper political cooperation.

The 2 parties signed an Association Agreement, including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), in the margins of the EU summit held on 27 June 2014. Moldova promptly ratified the Agreement on 2 July, and both sides have completed the necessary formalities. Some provisions - including most of the DCFTA section - will therefore apply provisionally from 1 September 2014.

The agreements on visa facilitation and readmission between the EU and Moldova took effect in January 2008, and a wider Mobility Partnership was signed in June 2008. Since 28 April 2014, Moldovan citizens have been able to travel to the EU without a visa.

Moldova has been a signatory of the Energy Community Treatyand a full member of the Energy Communitysince 2010.