EU relations with Fiji

Fiji is one of the founding members of the Georgetown Agreement (formally establishing the Africa, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, "the  ACP Group" since 1975. The EU-Fiji relations are based on the respect for human rights, democratic principles, fundamental freedoms and the rule of law – essential elements of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement and these elements form the core of the political dialogue with Fiji.

The EU Fiji relationships are covered by the EU Delegation based in Suva, Fiji (This Delegation covers also the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, the Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Tonga and Tuvalu).

EU Delegation to Fiji

Following the parliamentary elections of 2014 (first since 2006 military coup) the EU/Fiji relations have entered into a new and promising phase with the organisation of the first high level political dialogue since Fiji's return to democracy and the signing of a new National Indicative Programme pdf - 10 MB [10 MB] under the 11thEuropean Development Fund (EDF) in June 2015.

Aid and cooperation

Following Fiji's return to democracy, the measures which suspended the development cooperation with Fiji and which were put in place after the military coup of 2006, came to an end in March 2015. This enabled Fiji to fully benefit from the 11th EDF.

Under the 11th EDF covering period 2014-2020, an indicative amount of € 28m has been allocated for Fiji. The focal areas for the assistance  are Sustainable Rural Livelihoods and Public Administration reform and Governance.