Foreign Affairs Council

The Foreign Affairs Council is made up of European Union Member State Ministers responsible for Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development. These Ministers attend monthly meetings to discuss foreign policy, trade, security, defence and development matters.

The High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini chairs the Foreign Affairs Council meetings, except for commercial policy issues - when the rotating Presidency takes over the chair. Federica Mogherini is also a Vice-President of the European Commission, ensuring the consistency and coordination of the EU's external action.


Subscribe to Newsletters and alerts