Focal points

Every EU Member State has a Focal Point for election observation related matters, either within their own Ministry of Foreign Affairs or in a related external agency.

Every EU Member State has a Focal Point for election observation related matters, either within their own Ministry of Foreign Affairs or in a related external agency. The Focal Points are responsible for the recruitment and proposal of their own country’s candidates for selection as Short-Term and Long-Term Observers to EU Election Observation Missions.

You will find their contact details in the table below:

AUSTRIA

Ms. Viktoria Wagner

Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs 
Department I.7.
Human Rights
Minoritenplatz 8
A-1014 Vienna
Austria
Tel: +43 50 1150-3375
Fax: +43 50 1159-3589
Email:
abti7@bmeia.gv.at
beobachtungsmission@bmeia.gv.at
Viktoria.wagner@bmeia.gv.at

BELGIUM

Mr. Denis Valois

PFS Foreign Affairs
S3.1 Conflict Prevention and Peace Building
Desk
Rue des Petits Carmes / Karmelietenstraat 15
B-1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 501 89 57
Email:
observateurs.ue@diplobel.fed.be
waarnemers.eu@diplobel.fed.be

BULGARIA

Mrs. Pavleta Terziyska

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria
Human Resources Directorate
2, Alexander Jendov Str.
1113 Sofia
Bulgaria
Tel: +359 2 948 2845
Fax: +359 2 873 4345
Email: Pavleta.TERZIYSKA@mfa.bg

CANADA
Mr Jarret Reckseidler
Ms Carly Volkes

Government of Canada
Tel: +32 2 741 06 69
Tel: +1 343 203 2783
Emails:
jarrett.reckseidler@international.gc.ca
carly.volkes@international.gc.ca
 

CROATIA

Ms. Maja Drmač

Division for Human Rights and
Regional International Organisations and Initiatives
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
Republic of Croatia
Trg N. Š. Zrinjskog 7-8
Zagreb 10 000
Croatia
Tel: +3851 4569 841
Fax: +3851 4597 414
Email: maja.drmac@mvep.hr

CYPRUS

Mr Kyriakos Pogiatzis

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Department of Multilateral Relations and International Organizations
Presidential Palace Avenue
1447 Nicosia
Cyprus
Tel: +357 22 401244
Fax: +357 22 661881
Email: kpogiatzis@mfa.gov.cy

CZECH REP.

Mr. Jan Kaminek,
Mr. Jan Latal (Deputy to Mr. Kaminek)
Ms Jana Cechlovska, MFA (Dep. for Human Resources)
Mr Pavel Hrncir (Deputy to Ms. Cechlovska)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Dep. for Human Rights
Loretanske namesti 5
11800 Praha 1
Czech Republic
Tel: +420 224 18 3236 / +420 734 36 2629 /
+420 224 18 2756 / +420 224 18 2739 /
+420 224 18 3371
Email: jan_kaminek@mzv.cz
jan_latal@mzv.cz
nkm@mzv.cz

DENMARK

Ms. Signe Dam (MFA)
Ms. Anna Cecilie Varnild (NIRAS/FSB)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Stabilisation and Security Policy
Asiatisk Plads 2
DK-1448 Copenhagen K Tel: +45 33 92 06 23 / +45 50778666  /
Fax: +45 24 69 06 32
Email: ssp@um.dk, signda@um.dk

NIRAS/IHB
Ørestads Boulevard 35
DK-2300 Copenhagen S
Tel: +45 3537 4200 / +45 2469 0632 
Fax: +45 4810 4300
Email: fsb-niras@niras.dk

ESTONIA

Ms Liis Poola
Ms Luule Rand

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
International Staff Policy Division
Islandi väljak 1
15049 Tallinn
Estonia
Tel: +372 6 377 181 /
+372 6 377 183
Fax: +372 6 377 398
Email: liis.poola@mfa.ee
luule.rand@mfa.ee

FINLAND

Ms. May-Len Svenskberg
(Ms. Tuula Cowen)

 

Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland,
Unit for Security Policy and Crisis Management
Political Department
Laivastokatu 22.C
P.O.Box 420
FI-00023 Valtioneuvosto
Finland
Tel: +358 9 160 55465 /
(+358 9 160 55189)
Fax: +358 9 160 56550
Email: May-Len.Svenskberg@formin.fi
(tuula.cowen@formin.fi)

FRANCE

M. Pascal Delumeau

 

Ministère des Affaires étrangères
Direction des Nations unies, des Organisations internationales, des Droits de l'Homme et de la Francophonie
Délégation des Fonctionnaires Internationaux
57 boulevard des Invalides
F-75700 Paris 07 SP
France
Fax: +33 1 53 69 37 99
Email:
observations.electorales@diplomatie.gouv.fr

GERMANY

Ms. Kerstin Broering

Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF)
Ludwigkirchplatz 3-4
D-10719 Berlin
Deutschland
Tel: +49 30 5200 565 74
Fax: +49 30 5200 565 90
Email: k.broering@zif-berlin.org
Web site:www.zif-berlin.org

GREECE

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
A6 Directorate (Northern Africa, Middle East, Iran and Iraq)
A8 Directorate (Latin America & the Caribbean)
A9 Directorate (Sub-Saharan Africa)
A10 Directorate (Asia and Oceania )
Vas. Sofias 1
GR-106 71 Athens
Tel: +30 210 368 1303 / +30 210 368 4555 / +30 210 368 2926 / +30 210 368 2004
Fax: +30 210 368 1717
Email: a06@mfa.gr
a08@mfa.gr
a09@mfa.gr
a10@mfa.gr

HUNGARY

Ms. Judit József (Head of Section)
Ms. Zsófia Elek

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Hungary
2nd European Department
Bem rkp 47.
1027 Budapest
Hungary
Tel: +361 458 1687 / +361 458 3563
Fax: +361 458 1639
Email: jjozsef@mfa.gov.hu
Zsofia.elek@mfa.gov.hu

IRELAND

Mr. Abdi Hassan
Mr. John Crowe 

Department of Foreign Affairs
Irish Aid Centre
27–31 Upper O'Connell Street
Dublin 1
Ireland
Tel: +353 1 854 6930 / +353 1 677 4118 / +353 1 677 4114
Email: john.crowe@dfa.ie
abdi.hassan@dfa.ie

ITALY

Ms. Silvia Vinci

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Directorate General for Political and Security Affairs
European Foreign Affairs and Security Division
Piazzale della Farnesina 1
I-00194 Roma
Italia
Tel: +39 06 3691 3488
Fax: +39 06 323 6151
Email: silvia.vinci@esteri.it

LATVIA

Ms Diāna Krieva

 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Personnel Department
Kr. Valdemara street 3
LV-1395 Riga
LATVIA
Tel: +371 67 01 59 67
Email:
eu.eom.focal.point@mfa.gov.lv,
diana.krieva@mfa.gov.lv

LITHUANIA

Ms. Jolita Lancinskiene
Mr. Rimvydas Kriukelis

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Transatlantic Cooperation and Security Policy Department
International Missions and Conflict Prevention Division
J. Tumo-Vaižganto g. 2
LT-01511 Vilnius
Lithuania
Tel: +370 5 236 2877 / +370 5 236 2428
Fax: +370 5 236 2519
Email: jolita.lancinskiene@urm.lt
rimvydas.kriukelis@urm.lt

LUXEMBOURG

Mr Armand Muno

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Political and European Affairs - EOM focal point
5, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tel: +352 2478 2469
Fax: +352 22 32 83
Email: armand.muno@mae.etat.lu

MALTA

Mr Alessandro Giuliano

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malta
Directorate Global Issues
Palazzo Parisio
Merchant Street
Valletta
Malta VLT1171
Tel: +356 2204 2279
Fax: +356 21 251 520
Email: alessandro.giuliano@gov.mt
election.observers@gov.mt
 

NORWAY

NORDEM
Norwegian Resource Bank for Democracy and Human Rights

Postal address:
NORDEM
Norwegian Centre for Human Rights
P.Box: 6706
St. Olavsplass 5
0130 Oslo
Norway

Visiting address:
NORDEM
Norwegian Centre for Human Rights
Cort Adelersgt 30
0254 Oslo
Norway
Tel: +47 22 84 20 24 / +47 22 84 20 27 /
+47 22 84 20 64 / +47 22 84 20 01 (Reception)
Fax: + 47 22 84 20 02
Email: nordem-programme@nchr.uio.no

POLAND

Ms Beata Prądzyńska
Ms Iwona Wojtczak

 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland
Department for the Proceedings before International Human Rights
Protection Bodies
Al. J. Ch. Szucha 23
PL-00-580 Warsaw
Poland
Tel: +48 22 523 8903
Tel: +48 22 523 8138
Email:
beata.pradzynska@msz.gov.pl
iwona.wojtczak@msz.gov.pl

PORTUGAL

Mr J Luís Coelho-Silva
Ms Eunice Vasco

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Directorate-general for External Policy
Ministério dos Negócios Estrangeiros
Largo do Rilvas
P-1399-030 Lisboa
Portugal
Tel: +351 213 946 000
Email: observadores@mne.pt

ROMANIA

Mrs. Viorica Vasiliu

 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania
Directorate for OSCE
Council of Europe
Human Rights
Asymmetric Risks and Nonproliferation
Aleea Alexandru nr. 31
Sector 1
011822 Bucharest
Romania
Tel: +40 21 431 11 05
Fax: +40 21 319 23 67
Email: viorica.vasiliu@mae.ro

SLOVAKIA

Ms. Anna Plassat Murinova
Ms. Sona Danova

 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic
Human Rights and Council of Europe Department
Hlboka cesta 2
833 36 Bratislava 37
Slovakia
Tel: +421 2 5978 3643 / +421 2 5978 3641
Fax: +421 2 5978 3649
Email: anna.murinova@mzv.sk

SLOVENIA

Ms Katja KRIŽNAR URBANC

 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Slovenia
Prešernova ulica 25
SI-1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Tel: +386 1 478 2180
Fax: +386 1 478 2335
Email: katja.kriznar-urbanc@gov.si

SPAIN

Ms. Isabel Menchón

 

Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores y Cooperación
Oficina Derechos Humanos
Focal Point for Human Rights Defenders
Edificio Torres Ágora
Calle Serrano Galvache, 26
E-28033 Madrid
España
Tel: +34 91 379 85 72 / +34 91 379 95 94
Fax: +34 91 394 86 50
Email: isabel.menchon@mae.es

SWEDEN

Ms. Susanna Nyström,
Ms. Lucy Andrades

Sida
Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
Valhallavägen 199
S-105 25 Stockholm
Sweden
Tel: +46 8 698 50 00
Email: susanna.nystrom@sida.se
lucy.andrade@sida.se

SWITZERLAND

Ms. Jelena Wagner
Assistant to Head Pol. Affairs.
Ms. Marianne Gerber
Focal Point EOM

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA)
Swiss Expert Pool for Civilian Peacebuilding
Focal Point for Election Observation
Bundesgasse 32
CH-3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel: +41 31 322 37 94 / +41 31 322 61 47
Fax: +41 31 323 89 22
Web site: www.eda.admin.ch/pd4
Email: jelena.wagner@eda.admin.ch
gmr@eda.admin.ch

THE NETHERLANDS

Ms. Betty Spijkers

Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
Human Resources Department, Unit Civilian Deployment
& Election Observation (HDPO/PM/WS-Unit CMV),
P.O. Box 20061
NL-2500 EB The Hague
The Netherlands
E-mail:verkiezingen@minbuza.nl
E-mail:betty.spijkers@minbuza.nl
Telephone: +31 70 348 59 70
Telefax: +31 70 348 67 02

UNITED KINGDOM

Ms. Emma Kouki

Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Human Rights and Democracy Department
Westminster Foundation for Democracy & Elections
Room E3.312
London SW1A 2AH
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 20 7008 3880
Email: emma.kouki@fco.gsi.gov.uk
eu@eris.org.uk